Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

strange problem in Rise of Nations game

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-03, 08:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
strange problem in Rise of Nations game


I found a strange problem when playing a Rise of Nations network game at a small LAN party I setup a few days ago. I think I know the problem but not sure. I have a Radeon 7200 (small overclock to AGP bus @ 35) 32 meg card. and with all settings/displays set to the lowest settings the game starts to hang about 30 minuts into a 5 player game (3 human, 2 omputer). the computer slows down and will lag out everyone else. saying "waiting for other player" is this the video card? a glitch in the game itself? I think its vid but I dunno.. little info below:

My rig:
Radeon 7200 32MB
Athlon XP 1700 @ 2100
1024 PC2700 RAM
10/100 Ethernet on Full duplex 8 port switch (only 3 comps connected)

other comps had P4 3.06 and Athlon XP 2100
one with a Radeon 8500 128MB and GForce MX4xx something... so then it is my card? ordering a 9200 today so hopefully it will fix it (need a new card for Half-Life 2 anyways )

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:15 PM   #2
Inositle
Member

 
Inositle's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

 
I doubt it's your video card. Also I'm pretty sure the 9200 isn't that woopie. Sounds like a bug or some kind of glitch with your system.
Inositle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:28 PM   #3
Madmike2
Member

 
Madmike2's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto Canada

 
Rise of Nations is a notoriously buggy game ... i play it alot at our Internet cafe ... that happens all the time ... me thinks .. even though people disagree with this term, i think it has bad coding creating memory leaks.. the only time its never messed up in a long game for us was one time 5 of us all played korea..

__________________
Asus P8Z77 with 3570 16 GIGS 670 GTX FED by SSD's
Madmike2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:35 PM Thread Starter   #4
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Inositle
I doubt it's your video card. Also I'm pretty sure the 9200 isn't that woopie. Sounds like a bug or some kind of glitch with your system.
im cheap on most things just needed a card with more ram and faster and got a good deal on it... but its still better than wha tI got now.

*edit* the other thing is it ONLY does it on my computer... we all have the same install of the game and it only hangs and causes problems on my computer...

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:53 PM   #5
cursor
Member

 
cursor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seattle, WA USA

 
I'm getting a few weird problems with this game myself. They seem to improve when I kill applications that I like to run in the background (folding@home, for example). Still, I got a corrupted save game today.

BTW, the game is pretty awesome. Maybe Microsoft will patch it again

__________________
This space intentionally left blank.
cursor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:53 PM   #6
HotKoala
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Between Heaven and Hell

 
It's not just you. It affects everyone no matter what card or drivers they use. RoN just freezes after a certain duration every time. Sometimes I go 1 hour; sometimes 3 hours. Whether I use the Parhelia on the nF2, the 9500Pro on a SiS, or a GF4 4600 on the MPX. Be it air or water cooling. That's the only game that has this problem.
HotKoala is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-29-03, 08:59 PM Thread Starter   #7
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by HotKoala
It's not just you. It affects everyone no matter what card or drivers they use. RoN just freezes after a certain duration every time. Sometimes I go 1 hour; sometimes 3 hours. Whether I use the Parhelia on the nF2, the 9500Pro on a SiS, or a GF4 4600 on the MPX. Be it air or water cooling. That's the only game that has this problem.
well thats understandable but all three network games it was only me that had problems.. (i.e. after I resigned the game all was fine again)

and yes it is an awsome game, hope microsoft patches it as well

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 08:41 AM   #8
HotKoala
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Between Heaven and Hell

 
Don't worry, play more often and the others will lag out first=)

I've been playing it since it came out. Almost every single one of my online or LAN games has someone freezing out if it's not a short game. Sometimes it'll let us play for 3 hours, sometimes it'll die after an hour.
HotKoala is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?