Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Connection Testing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-03, 01:12 PM Thread Starter   #1
Ishakir
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL

10 Year Badge
 
Connection Testing


Hey guys,

This is my first post after going broadband from dialsuck!!

Anyways, the connection I have is fixed wireless and they give you a 30 day trial period to decide whether or not you like the service. I've run connection tests and im getting (on average) 1000/800. Now this is great but I want to rigourously test the connection before I decide if I should keep it or not.

Prime95 is to system stability as ________ is to connection reliability?

Know any programs that pretty much test the crap out of your connection?

Thanks for the help!
-Ish-

__________________
Current Rig:
Intel i7 860 || ASUS P7P55D-E LX || G.Skill 8GB PC3-12800 || NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 || 1TB HDD, 128GB Samsung SSD || 720W OCZ Evostream

_____________________
Heatware
Ishakir is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 01:38 PM   #2
Bobby
Member

 
Bobby's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
I don't think there is a "stress test" for connections but you can download NetStatLive from www.analogx.com to track your download speeds.

I would find out what their SLA is before committing to a contract.

-Bobby

__________________
Asus Z87-A | Intel i5 4670k @ 4.0ghz | CM Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair vx550w
4 x 4gb Kingston HyperX | Asus HD6950 DCUII 2gb | Asus 27" Widescreen | MS Windows 7 Ultimate
2 x 128gb OCZ Agility3 SSD Raid0 | 2TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate | LiteOn DVD 16x | Toshiba 16x/48x DVD
Corsair 300r | LogiTech Z-640 | LogiTech G700s |


Heatware
Bobby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 02:03 PM Thread Starter   #3
Ishakir
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL

10 Year Badge
 
There's no contract I'll be bound to. It's just that equipment costed about 250 dollars so I wanted to make sure that I wanted to stay with them. Currently, there's no cable or DSL in the area. I've been using dial-up for about 3 years now and the speeds im getting right now are amazing compared to before.

__________________
Current Rig:
Intel i7 860 || ASUS P7P55D-E LX || G.Skill 8GB PC3-12800 || NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 || 1TB HDD, 128GB Samsung SSD || 720W OCZ Evostream

_____________________
Heatware
Ishakir is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 02:09 PM   #4
Bobby
Member

 
Bobby's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Well, the download speed looks a bit below average (1500 or more usually) but the upload speed looks really good. If they can keep it around those speeds, I think it'd be worth it. How much is it a month?

-Bobby

__________________
Asus Z87-A | Intel i5 4670k @ 4.0ghz | CM Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair vx550w
4 x 4gb Kingston HyperX | Asus HD6950 DCUII 2gb | Asus 27" Widescreen | MS Windows 7 Ultimate
2 x 128gb OCZ Agility3 SSD Raid0 | 2TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate | LiteOn DVD 16x | Toshiba 16x/48x DVD
Corsair 300r | LogiTech Z-640 | LogiTech G700s |


Heatware
Bobby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 02:31 PM Thread Starter   #5
Ishakir
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL

10 Year Badge
 
Monthly charge is $44.95 per month.

Thanks for your input.

__________________
Current Rig:
Intel i7 860 || ASUS P7P55D-E LX || G.Skill 8GB PC3-12800 || NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 || 1TB HDD, 128GB Samsung SSD || 720W OCZ Evostream

_____________________
Heatware
Ishakir is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 02:54 PM   #6
Bobby
Member

 
Bobby's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
I think that's a pretty good deal considering it's about the same as cable or dsl and you can't get either in your area.

-Bobby

__________________
Asus Z87-A | Intel i5 4670k @ 4.0ghz | CM Hyper 212 Evo | Corsair vx550w
4 x 4gb Kingston HyperX | Asus HD6950 DCUII 2gb | Asus 27" Widescreen | MS Windows 7 Ultimate
2 x 128gb OCZ Agility3 SSD Raid0 | 2TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate | LiteOn DVD 16x | Toshiba 16x/48x DVD
Corsair 300r | LogiTech Z-640 | LogiTech G700s |


Heatware
Bobby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 10:14 PM   #7
Punkmasterflick
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
The only bad thing about wireless "modems" is the ping.. So when you're playing a game online, it's kind of rough trying to hit something that really isn't there.
Punkmasterflick is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?