Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

CPU getting cooler and cooler...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-03, 06:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
CPU getting cooler and cooler...


Dunno why this is happening, but my cpu has been getting cooler and cooler over the last few weeks. I havent changed anything about the system lately, and the ambient stays the same all the time in the room, but the load temp has dropped about a degree every couple of days.
It used to run about 50-51 at load (F@H 24/7)
slowly dropped to now only about 46 at load.
Ideas?
all temps reported by speedfan
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:25 PM   #2
moz_21
Member

 
moz_21's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MN

10 Year Badge
 
Are you using Arctic Silver paste? That takes like a week to "set" and load temps will drop slightly.

__________________
[Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, 2x EVGA GTX 560Ti 1GB SSC, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
[Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server] Asus M4A79T w/ Phenom II X6 1090T @ stock, 8GB Kingston DDR3 ECC (KVR1333D3E9SK2/8G), Xigmatek S1284, 8x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID5 array, Fortron 530W PSU
[Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB
[Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
[Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
[Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb Raptor HDD, 2x Realtek NIC Now a KVM on Ubuntu server
[My].Heatware
moz_21 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:29 PM   #3
squeezecat
Member

 
squeezecat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: PA

 
it will also take time for any tim to settle this is normal just the burn in time thats all, also try mbm 5 thats a good temp moniter

__________________
neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:
squeezecat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:30 PM Thread Starter   #4
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
I am using the stock AMD heatsink and the goop that came with it AFAIK. I got the system used and all I have done is lapped the HS about a month ago. The previous owner had used so much paste that after I lapped the HS there was still so much on top of the die and all over the chip that I had plenty to re-install the HS using the directions on the Arctic Silver website

(edit)
the system was obviously a year or so old when I got it, so I think it was all the way burned in already.
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:40 PM   #5
squeezecat
Member

 
squeezecat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: PA

 
yes but if you've lapped the heat sink u still had to put some tim between the cpu and heat sink, it usally take about 30 - 50 hrs for the tim to burn in, if youve done this with in that last week you should be okay. if it has been over that then make sure ur ambient room tempature is staying about the same ambient room temp has alot to do with the cpu

Also might want to try mbm 5

__________________
neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:
squeezecat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:41 PM   #6
squeezecat
Member

 
squeezecat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: PA

 
sorry but did you say you reused the old TIM???

__________________
neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:
squeezecat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 06:59 PM Thread Starter   #7
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
there was loads of the goop all over the top of the chip (around the die). There was probably 10x the amount reccomended by the Arctic silver website. I just removed the HS, cleaned and lapped it, scraped up a bunch of the goop off the chip, cleaned the chip, re-applied a small amount (per ASIII site) and re-installed the HS. That alone dropped temps by 3-5c.
CPU started getting cooler about 2 weeks (336hrs CPU time F@H 24/7) later
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 07:08 PM   #8
KLowD9x
Member



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lugoff, SC

 
Stock AMD HSF? I dont remember, but do those have copper in them? Copper is a soft metal that will start to mold to the top of your CPU die, causing a really nice thermal interface.
KLowD9x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 07:10 PM Thread Starter   #9
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
No copper in my HS, all aluminum. I am just assuming that it is the stock AMD retail unit, as there are no markings and it is pretty plain. Doesnt cool very well, either.
Gonna go to an SK-7 or the like once the new MB goes in and I can OC a bit better.
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 08:00 PM   #10
squeezecat
Member

 
squeezecat's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: PA

 
you should try not to reuse the tim

__________________
neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:
squeezecat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-03, 07:10 PM   #11
Semjonov
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
mine just get warmer after some time,.when the HS get stuffed with dust. I really should get this room cat free and also start vacuuming more...
Semjonov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-03, 09:51 PM   #12
PoX Freak
Member

 
PoX Freak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Carolina

 
It's probably the fact that he used "used" TIM. the little bit of silicone or other lube in it is supposed to help it settle faster, but since he "scraped up" what he used, im guessing it took longer to settle due to the lack od silicone or whatever in the TIM.
PoX Freak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-03, 01:58 AM Thread Starter   #13
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
Well today I bought a Volcano 9, so we will see how that one goes. I promise to use all new goop this time!
Brian
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?