Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Booting up problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-03, 05:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
Dc5e
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MA

 
Booting up problems


My 800mhz athlon slot a has problems booting up, the specs are

800mhz SLOT A
Gigabyte GA-7IXE
192mb pc100 sdram
firewire card
leadtek tv-tuner
hercules game theater xp
10/100 network card
gf2mx
1 80GB 7200RPM harddrive
1 120GB 7200RPM harddrive
a dvd drive
3 fans

When i start up the computer, sometimes the keyboard doesn't work, to get it to work, i have to unplug and plug it back in while the computer is starting up.
When the keyboard doesn't work, all 3 lights are on, numlock scroll lock and capslock,
I think this started happening once i put in the firewire card, leadtek, hercules.

Could it be the powersupply not supplying enough power?? its like a 250w or 300w

Also when my computer is supposed to be on at 8am, i often find it with the hdd light steady and no display. I have to turn it off and back on to get the computer started

__________________
Core i7 920 C0 @ 3.8ghz
P6T Deluxe
6gb 1600mhz DDR3
Geforce GTX260 Core216
Dc5e is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-03, 06:07 PM   #2
baraka
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA

 
As a test, did you try removing the firewire card to see if the problem goes away?
baraka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-11-03, 08:44 AM   #3
don256us

 
don256us's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bridgman, MI

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, I would agree with baraka. Remove any card that you feel is suspect and see what that does for you. Also, just because a power supply is rated at 250 or 300 W, doesn't mean that it is doing so. Cheap ones really lose their watts as they get hot. Also, sometimes they just flake out. You might want to try a different PSU.

__________________
Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 6x4GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |2 X R9 280XFolding
AMD 1035T X6 | Win 7 Pro |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (16 GB) | 500 GB SATA x 2 | 240 GT | Not folding.
AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | ATI 4200 | 2 x DVD-DL | Folding.


Folding User Stats
My Heatware
Fold for team 32.
don256us is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?