Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

overclocking crisis! please help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-03, 12:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
overclocking crisis! please help


Ok guys, I'm running on:

2.4c philly
ic7
antec 550 true
kingston hyperx 3500

I can't seem to get past 275fsb at all. I tried 3:2, but no luck there. I can ran stable at 275fsb and 1.68vcore. MY vdimm is set to 2.8. My cooling is more than suffient, so thats not the issue. I have a honeywell fan blowning right at the pc, which brings the temps down considerably. Please, any advise would be appreciate.

Btw, Intially I was running the system off an enlight 300w and got the same results as the antec 550. That sucks, because now I have this expensive psu that gives me the same performance as my enlight 300w.
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 12:54 AM   #2
cack01
Member

 
cack01's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San diego or UC Davis

 
Do you have an option to increase voltage of the north bridge.

__________________
LianLi PC70
Dual PIII 1.0@1.2 (7.5*160) on ABIT VP6
768 PC-133
Geforce 4 TI4200 310/580
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
2x 40 GB Seagate 5400 w/Striping
1x 80 GB Seagate 7200
24X Yamaha CD-RW
Sony 520GS 21"
cack01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:00 AM Thread Starter   #3
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
no, i don't think so
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:09 AM   #4
method().man
Member

 
method().man's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hell's Kitchen

 
What kind of chips does your RAM use?
method().man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:34 AM Thread Starter   #5
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
what do you mean? I use the kingston hyperx 3500
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:47 AM   #6
method().man
Member

 
method().man's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hell's Kitchen

 
Quote:
Originally posted by siaful
what do you mean? I use the kingston hyperx 3500
You gotta look at the actual chips on the RAM themselves. What do they say on them? Winbond, Samsung? Also, a part number would help.

As I see it, there are two possibilities with your setup: either your chip has hit its limit (completely possible since you're already at 3.3 GHz) or your RAM isn't playing nice with your mobo (which is also highly possible since many people have experienced problems with Abit canterwood/springdale boards when using RAM that is made of a particular type of chip - Winbond CH-5s).
method().man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:55 AM Thread Starter   #7
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
It just gives the speed and specs " 256mb pc3500 cl2 184-pin dimm".

I think you may be right about the memory. I think its whats holding me back. Also(off topic), do you know of any software that gives accurate psu readings. Thanks
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:55 AM Thread Starter   #8
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
What should I do about the memory?
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 01:58 AM   #9
method().man
Member

 
method().man's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hell's Kitchen

 
Ok, I think you're reading the label on the heatspreader. You either have to 1) peel the spreader off and figure out what kind of chips they use or 2) find out on the Internet.
method().man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 02:00 AM   #10
unreal
Registered

 
unreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami

 
i never would have thought the ram would be such a cause, but i have found out recently that ram speed... makes a big difference with the m/b.

__________________
Main system xeon x3440 (oc'ed to 3.5) ASrock p55 extreem / mastercooler hyper 212
Nvidia 250 (oc'ed attempting)
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Thermaltake toughpower 750 xt
300gig seagate 8mb cache 7200 (boot)
400gig seagate 8mb cache 7200
1TB Samsung 32mb cache 7200
74gig western digital 8mb cache 10,000

MyHeatware
unreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 02:35 AM Thread Starter   #11
siaful
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Reported retail max speed for this ram is 434. Does that mean I can't overclock beyond that?
siaful is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 03:57 AM   #12
micamica1217
Member

 
micamica1217's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by siaful
Reported retail max speed for this ram is 434. Does that mean I can't overclock beyond that?
almost....

most memory will go a little past spec. speed, yet what ram timmings are you running?

maybe going 3,4,4,8 you'll get a little faster (FSB).

mica

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

" Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


[OCG] Fraging at it's finest.

Last edited by micamica1217; 08-12-03 at 08:43 AM.
micamica1217 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-03, 07:18 PM   #13
flapperhead
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: wash dc area

 
3.3 aint exactly peanuts . you may have reached the cpu limit. to eliminate the ram relax timings and run the fsb mem ratio really easy like 3/2 that way u know your memory wont fail first..
flapperhead is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?