Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

What program are people using to "render"

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-03, 07:30 AM Thread Starter   #1
Wiseass
Member

 
Wiseass's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Aurora, Illinois

 
What program are people using to "render"


Just what hte title says. I see alot of "renderings" of projects that people are doing for layout, etc. What programs are they using for this? There was one I linked to in the ammo-box mod that he actually printed out templates for layout and everything.
Wiseass is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 07:52 AM   #2
vonkaar
Member

 
vonkaar's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flower Mound, TX

 
Autocad probably, although I use Visio or Lincoln Logs to make mine.

__________________
-->>Ranked #1 of all folders in the world!!<<-- named Vonkaar...
I7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz // MSI X58 Pro-E // Sapphire 5870 // 6x Seagates in RAID0 // Microsoft Keyboard Overclocked to 18 WPM (STOCK COOLING!)

Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittamj
vonkaar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 08:29 AM   #3
SinsFeelNatural
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phx. AZ - USA

 
Like he said, I have also seen pics mad in 3d studio max for projects but AutoCAD is the premier software for schematic layouts

__________________
RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.
SinsFeelNatural is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 11:18 AM   #4
ziptieboy
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas

 
I use a program called Autodesk Inventor. It is made by the same company that makes 3ds Max. Much like AutoCAD, but much more focused on Solid Modeling.

Scott
ziptieboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 11:44 AM   #5
thorilan
Member

 
thorilan's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Japan/Daytona Beach

 
hehe i do it all in my head including memorizing the number of centimeters distance from 1 angle to another =)

thats partialy why i have nothing to show on my beast project , because i cant just explain the stuff. that and i have some super top secret stuff i dont want copied till after i have published mine.

there is another 3d software but i cant seem to remember the name of it.
dont have all the functions of autocad but it was made for designing houses and has everything needed for computer modeling with a lot of predefined shapes that are usefull in a water cooling design system

__________________
697+ water coolled systems built , 0 leaks
thorilan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 12:11 PM   #6
vonkaar
Member

 
vonkaar's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flower Mound, TX

 
I'm telling you... nothing beats Lincoln Logs, Lego's or Erector Sets for building your PC models. You can change it as you please, and if you are like me, you get to giggle each time you say "Erector Set." Bonus!

__________________
-->>Ranked #1 of all folders in the world!!<<-- named Vonkaar...
I7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz // MSI X58 Pro-E // Sapphire 5870 // 6x Seagates in RAID0 // Microsoft Keyboard Overclocked to 18 WPM (STOCK COOLING!)

Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittamj
vonkaar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 01:06 PM   #7
Fushyuguru
Member

 
Fushyuguru's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WPAFB, OH

 
I use Solidworks 2k3 for mechanical workings and or Pro E for most layouts and drawings.

Plus for being a student. I get software.
Fushyuguru is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 01:53 PM   #8
macky
Macaddict

 
macky's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Omaha, NE

 
Here at work the drafters/designers use AutCAD and MicroStation, depending on their preference. I'm very partial to AutoCAD, but I'm also not a drafter/designer.





hehehe Erector Set hehehe
macky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 02:27 PM   #9
DaveSauce
Member

 
DaveSauce's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI

 
Hey, I have an erector set! I played with it all the time when I was a kid...what's so fun--

ooooohhhh.....

lol, anyway, be advised that AutoCAD and other similar programs cost money. MONEY, not just money....lol. If you want a 3D rendering program, you have a few options.

You can get a program called MilkShape3D, which has a short trial and is like $50 to purchase, OR you can get the Maya Personal Learning Edition. It's a 150MB or so download, and it puts a watermark on everything you draw. It has most of the features of the regular version. For just doing mock-ups, that should be just fine.

But if you're looking for a program where you can write in dimensions and such, then neither of those programs will work for you. You can make a nice looking design, but you can't print out a blueprint or something.
DaveSauce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 02:38 PM   #10
Fushyuguru
Member

 
Fushyuguru's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WPAFB, OH

 
Quote:
Originally posted by DaveSauce
Hey, I have an erector set! I played with it all the time when I was a kid...what's so fun--

ooooohhhh.....

lol, anyway, be advised that AutoCAD and other similar programs cost money. MONEY, not just money....lol. If you want a 3D rendering program, you have a few options.

You can get a program called MilkShape3D, which has a short trial and is like $50 to purchase, OR you can get the Maya Personal Learning Edition. It's a 150MB or so download, and it puts a watermark on everything you draw. It has most of the features of the regular version. For just doing mock-ups, that should be just fine.

But if you're looking for a program where you can write in dimensions and such, then neither of those programs will work for you. You can make a nice looking design, but you can't print out a blueprint or something.
Very true. Our liscence for Auto CAD Inventors series here at work was $7300 for a single computer. At school we get student licesnces of Solidworks and Pro E. Though for a full version of pro E its over $10,000, Solidworks is much more user friendly and less costly -- <$2000. These are for single liscences.

Your best bet is to see if you can get trial versions of software, or see if there is a free linux GNU software out there.
Fushyuguru is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 03:29 PM   #11
SpyderMatrix

 
SpyderMatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: VA

10 Year Badge
 
i just use photoshop for my stuff it works just as well

__________________


<-----------New Avatar for OC
F@H2 Team
Member of the 3d Mark 2001 team

My Heatware
SpyderMatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 03:39 PM   #12
Penguin4x4
Are you my Daddy?
♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪

 
Penguin4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sector 7G

 
Milkshape 3D, AutoCAD, or, my personal favorite, SketchUp 3D are the best 3D renderers I have seen,

__________________
~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

OCForums Metal Club member #39


Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger
Penguin4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-03, 04:24 PM   #13
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
I use milkshape because it's fast, simple, and only $20.

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-03, 11:47 PM   #14
340Duster
Member

 
340Duster's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: S. Carolina

 
I use Autodesk Inventor 6, because I learned that as well as regular AutoCAD at school and I can put them on my computer for free. I don't have the 6 grand the school pays for the education version I have. And Psst AutoCAD's 3D modeling is slow and combersome.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz (3 cores running)
ASUS M4A87TD EVO
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6850 1GB
Zalman Reserator V2
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB
WD 320GB SATA 3.0GB/s
Custom Flamed Case
Logitech Z-5500 --Liteon 20x DVDR

If builders built buildings the way programers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker to come along would destory civilization.
340Duster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-03, 01:29 AM   #15
notasparagus
Member

 
notasparagus's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Puget Sound, WA, USA

 
Sketchup is really nice. At first it is really hard to understand, but once you watch the Tutorials on there website it is much clearer. Only real downside of it is it is reallly hard to do curves, but straight lines are very easy.
notasparagus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?