Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

How To Overclock A Dell!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-03, 06:58 PM   #41
craigmci
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
mines a dell 8250 2.53,so this should work for me,it is pc1066 ram as well(1G)
craigmci is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 09:49 AM   #42
TheTick
Member

 
TheTick's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SPOON!!!

 
anyone know where to find cpufsb? The link in the beginning brings me to a 404 page.
TheTick is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 09:56 AM   #43
Cyrix_2k
Member

 
Cyrix_2k's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)

 
No luck on my Dad's HP. I beileve it's model 7955 . It doesn't support it's PLL.

__________________

ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

2500k @ 4.9ghz
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

vCore
1.287 |Idle: 33°c | Full load: 68°c
16gb Corsair XMS 3
| Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
F O L D For Team 32!!

Black belt Ubercloxx0r

Audio Technica ATH-A900's
"yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
SANS GSEC Certified
Cyrix_2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 10:06 AM   #44
gogadgetman
Member

 
gogadgetman's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Derby England

 
I have an old Compaq Presario 5000. Will it work with it? and what Mobo's do they use?

Cheers Juls
gogadgetman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 10:09 AM   #45
TheTick
Member

 
TheTick's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SPOON!!!

 
cyrix and gogadgetman, where did you find the cpufsb program?
TheTick is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 10:31 AM   #46
craigmci
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
wont work with my pll damn,i am building a new one,to hell with dell,ill never buy another again
craigmci is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 12:47 PM   #47
TheTick
Member

 
TheTick's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SPOON!!!

 
You know whats retarded about cpufsb, it will support pll 950202, but not 950201, which is off by one number, ehh back to the AMD then.
TheTick is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 01:17 PM   #48
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by doc6886
I ran into a problem in the middle of this process. Can you help me? Look at these screenshots and read the captions written on them.

http://www.n00bstories.com/image.fet...?id=1074784704

http://www.n00bstories.com/image.fet...?id=1062819447
Try using the 'get PLL values' button. It might give you some frequencies to use, or at least make the fine tuning button avalible.

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-31-03, 11:20 PM   #49
dkitt10
Member

 
dkitt10's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada-Alberta-St. Paul

 
i got a question what happens if you but it up so high that it freezes so you restart computer and it refuses to boot in...sry if this is a noob question
dkitt10 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-01-04, 09:35 PM   #50
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Turn off the computer and unplug it. Press the power button to drain any residual energy. Plug it back in, and it should boot like new

The PLL settings are kept 'alive' by soft-off power AFAIK from the PSU. Once you unplug the PSU and get rid of all the electicity remaining, the PLL is cleared and is forced to read the BIOS for FSB information.

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-04, 12:52 AM   #51
JustinGB
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Staten Island, NY

 
i've got a dell, p2 400mhz optiplex gx1, what kinna motherboard would it have? I'd have to go searching around the mobo.. but the guy who did it w/ a p3 450. i would guess it would hae nearly the same mobo.

also the links down.. where can i d/l cpufsb?
JustinGB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-04, 07:40 PM   #52
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
I have no use for this program... I just bring links...

The author can be found at the link below.
<< http://www.podien.de/ >>

The following links are provided from his page.

Below is the new page for these pieces of software. CPUFSB is a smaller part of CPUCool. Both are shareware. Page (despite the .de) is in english.
<< http://www.cpufsb.de/index.html >>

Here is a mirror.
<< http://mitglied.lycos.de/podien/ >>

Hope all that helps.

<edit> Had more time, looked over my links, found out the author had official and up to date links, so I just provided them and removed the others. Those links should provide what you need. </edit>

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S

Last edited by gt24; 01-02-04 at 07:57 PM.
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-04, 12:59 AM   #53
axxinn
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
hello every one, i'm a newbee. and just starting in OC i find this info very interesting i'll try it tomorrow. Any body tried on a dimension 4300 yet, if so any problems?
axxinn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-04, 07:03 PM   #54
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!! Enjoy your stay.

I don't mess with Dells, mainly because I don't own one. I am just posting to ask how your experience was with this technique, if you did it or not... and also to extend a nice welcome to you.

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-04, 10:04 PM   #55
axxinn
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
thanx 4 the welcome and the reply. I tried but the software dont support my motherboard
thuogh luck. but on the bright side my brother has a 2400 Mhz amd and is wiiling to let me mess w/ it . well see what happens
axxinn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-05, 01:28 PM   #56
bobthegamer
Registered

 
bobthegamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Right Behinde you!

 
Thumbs up Sticky this helped alot


however i did encounter a problem when i got #15
it would not save and when i pressed any of the buttons it said, "use fine tuning button" and i don't know where that is
bobthegamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-05, 02:03 PM   #57
subtotal
Member

 
subtotal's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, NZ

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobthegamer
however i did encounter a problem when i got #15
it would not save and when i pressed any of the buttons it said, "use fine tuning button" and i don't know where that is
if it hasn't been stickey'd by now i doubt it will be. just look at the date on the post before yours
subtotal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-05, 12:25 PM   #58
Landus Mikain
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2005

 
I'm attempting to overclock a Dell Optiplex GX1 for a PC Repair class.

Anyone know if the info here would work?
Landus Mikain is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-05, 03:08 PM   #59
Scott9027
Member

 
Scott9027's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NC

 
I would look around and see if you can find out who would have made the motherboard, it could be someone other than Abit. But otherwise, the method is sound and it should work.

__________________
Rig In Transit:->
ASUS M4A78-E
AMD PII 945
OCZ Platinum 4GB
XFX HD-4890
Patriot Warp 32GB
CORSAIR 550VX
Antec 300
Acer X233
Scott9027 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-05, 09:31 PM   #60
Captain Slug
Helpful Senior Member

 
Captain Slug's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Asteroid B-612

10 Year Badge
 
My overclocking experiences all started with SoftFSB. PII 450 @ 575

__________________
||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||
Captain Slug is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?