Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

ummm...neverheard of this ram

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-03, 01:57 AM Thread Starter   #1
Compliance20
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sandy, Utah

 
ummm...neverheard of this ram


has anyone heard of Xerox Ram...its 3200 and i can get it to 6,2,2,2 timing. Basically im just wondering if its good or if i keep it at that timing is it going to fry on me.
Compliance20 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-03, 02:09 AM   #2
Lonely Raven
If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Senior

 
Lonely Raven's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wheaton, IL

 
Hehe, Xerox, like the copier company?

Probably just someone elses memory and they slapped
their name on it. I can't imagine Xerox getting into the memory
world. What does the individual chips say?

Generally good memory will not "fry on you". Bad memory,
well, it's going to fry on you eventually wether you OC it or not.
It can't hurt much to push the memory beyond it's specs and
see what it can do. As long as your not pushing the voltage too
high, the worst that could happen would be a hard drive
corruption from a bad overclock or the memory chopping up
data. IMHO, that's a small price to pay to find the limits of
all your hardware, and properly "tune" your machine to it's
(safe and reliable) limits.

__________________
The Lonely Raven

Jack of All Trades,
Master of None

IT Samurai

My Heatware
Lonely Raven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-03, 11:00 AM   #3
xgman
Member

 
xgman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: xgman

 
Sure, you put a stick in one slot and then in the morning you have 2!

__________________
[I][COLOR=SlateGray]Mac Pro - 8 core xeon 5462 (3.2ghz each) - 16GB ram - 8800GT - Dual boot leopard/vista WD black Drives - Konnekt Live-Samsung HTAS720ST sound - Dell3007wfp
xgman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-03, 01:25 PM   #4
SeanOMatic
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by xgman
Sure, you put a stick in one slot and then in the morning you have 2!
Sorry, but that was pretty funny.
SeanOMatic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-03, 01:29 PM   #5
tycanadian
Member

 
tycanadian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada

 
LOL Xerox RAM!!!

Have to agree with Sean, that was quite funny too. I've never heard of it and I'm pretty sure it's just relabelled. See if you can find any other clues on it as to what chips they might be or something. If your system is stable with those timings for a while then it shouldn't have any risk of causing problems. Run Prime95 for a while and then see.
tycanadian is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?