Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Playing movies from computer to TV, w/ GF4 Ti4200

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-03, 10:17 AM Thread Starter   #1
Kerilana
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas

 
Playing movies from computer to TV, w/ GF4 Ti4200


I recently had to reinstall Windows XP sp1.

Now I went to setup my tv out connection that I use to watch movies on my television. I can get my desktop to show up on the computer but whenever I try to play a movie, I just get a black screen. I know the connection is good at least.

I'm using the latest Nvidia drives (45.23??). Nview works as I can clone my desktop but still nothing in motion will show up.

Is there some setting I'm missing to get this to work. Before I used to simply open WinDVD or Windows Media and a Full screen version would play on the TV while I could do whatever else on the computer. This was very useful to keep others entertained while I got work done.

I appreciate any help or suggestions.
Kerilana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-03, 10:22 AM   #2
Janissary
Member

 
Janissary's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003

 
Did you check you nview settings, the secondary display output must be set to TV mode.
Janissary is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-03, 10:30 AM Thread Starter   #3
Kerilana
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Janissary
Did you check you nview settings, the secondary display output must be set to TV mode.
Yes, it says TV/ NTSC. And it gives a lovely replication of my desktop background picture in the 640x480 television resolution on the TV. However, no moving pictures. It will display the WinDVD program but no movement within the window when a DVD is playing. I must be a setting but I don't know which.

Last time (before I reinstalled XP), it showed the desktop until I turned on a movie application at which time it would go full screen on the TV and display the movie.
Kerilana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-03, 12:13 PM Thread Starter   #4
Kerilana
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas

 
I got it to work.


Just in case anyone else runs into this.

The fix was easy.

Go to the overlay controls section of the Nvidia driver settings page. Make sure Video overlay is selected and that Full screen mode is on autodetect.

Then it works.

BTW, http://www.tvtool.info is a great site for TV-out related questions.
Kerilana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-03, 12:14 PM   #5
Janissary
Member

 
Janissary's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003

 
Well if you can see the desktop on your TV it does not seem to be the nview settings then. Well after installing SP1 on my system some of my drivers failed to work properly, it may be a good idea to reload the drivers of your graphics card and also reload WinDvD and try again, I hope this will help you.
Janissary is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-21-03, 12:47 PM   #6
Janissary
Member

 
Janissary's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003

 
Ooops, you were fast I must say, you were offline when I logged in and began to write the reply, anyway good to see that you solved your problem
Janissary is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-22-03, 01:28 PM   #7
Puer Aeternus
Member

 
Puer Aeternus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In your head (Ottawa.Canada)

10 Year Badge
 
What I did was enable the "make this the primary display". So for me primary display was the t.v and then I could watch movies.

I am curious if anyone else has probs I have been having playing dvd's using tv out. I get copy protection warnings.

Another prob I get is that some of my videos on full screen look aweful DVD or otherwise? I have played w/ the settings in nview and after a week of tweaking I went back to watching movies on my 19 inch monitor-better picture less hassle.

Kerilana, let me know what success you have or if the same probs happen to you...maybe I can resolve some of my issues too.

Thanks,
puer

__________________
An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
Radeon 7970 Diamond
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
InWin Dragon Rider (case)
Logitech G15
Puer Aeternus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-22-03, 11:55 PM   #8
Phoenix87
Member

 
Phoenix87's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Windows midea will only play a movie to your primary display. Very stupid IMO.
Phoenix87 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 08:37 AM Thread Starter   #9
Kerilana
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Puer Aeternus
What I did was enable the "make this the primary display". So for me primary display was the t.v and then I could watch movies.

I am curious if anyone else has probs I have been having playing dvd's using tv out. I get copy protection warnings.

Another prob I get is that some of my videos on full screen look aweful DVD or otherwise? I have played w/ the settings in nview and after a week of tweaking I went back to watching movies on my 19 inch monitor-better picture less hassle.

Kerilana, let me know what success you have or if the same probs happen to you...maybe I can resolve some of my issues too.

Thanks,
puer
I use an S-video to RCA adapter to get the signal to my TV. Make sure the overlay controls menu under the driver settings has something that says video overlay selected and full screen mode set to auto.

Also goto www.tvtool.info and use that to tweak everything. It's quite useful. The forums there are helpful as well.

Quote:
Windows midea will only play a movie to your primary display. Very stupid IMO.
Actually it works quite well with my setup. Windows XP Ti4200 Video.
Kerilana is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 01:49 PM   #10
Puer Aeternus
Member

 
Puer Aeternus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In your head (Ottawa.Canada)

10 Year Badge
 
Very Good Kerilana! Thanks for the tips I will post back w/ my results.

__________________
An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
Radeon 7970 Diamond
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
InWin Dragon Rider (case)
Logitech G15
Puer Aeternus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 05:34 PM   #11
Puer Aeternus
Member

 
Puer Aeternus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: In your head (Ottawa.Canada)

10 Year Badge
 
WOW TvTool is awesome! Finally my videos look good on T.V and I can play a movie while still working on the computer.

Thanks again for the tip Kerilana!!!!!

__________________
An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
Radeon 7970 Diamond
Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
InWin Dragon Rider (case)
Logitech G15
Puer Aeternus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?