Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

What kind of firewall do you use?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-03, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Greasy Burger
Member

 
Greasy Burger's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pimp City, United States of Burger

 
What kind of firewall do you use?


I use Sygate Pro

Which do you think is the best?

__________________
<insert sig here>
Greasy Burger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-03, 11:35 PM   #2
su root
Senior Member
--
I teach people how to read your email.

 
su root's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I use a Gentoo Linux box running IPTables.

For a home network, something like my setup, or a "real" router (eg. Cisco), IMO allows you to fully control everything that is going through your network.

Besides that, a Cable/DSL Router gets #2 slot, then a software firewall as #3.

I have used Zonealarm, Norton PF, and Sygate PF. Overall, I liked norton the best (as of about a half year ago), zonealarm second, and sygate last (it liked to automatically detect 'intrusions' and auto-ban IPs for seemingly innocent things. (gets really annoying sometimes).

__________________
"Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."
su root is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-03, 11:41 PM Thread Starter   #3
Greasy Burger
Member

 
Greasy Burger's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pimp City, United States of Burger

 
I also have Netgear router for all my four computers. Do I have to do something if I want to use the hardware firewall from that router? My first three IP numbers of my computer is 192.XXX.X.X different from my real IP address.

__________________
<insert sig here>
Greasy Burger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-03, 11:48 PM   #4
su root
Senior Member
--
I teach people how to read your email.

 
su root's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
No. By default, your router should be protecting you.

Just make sure that 'DMZ' is disabled in the router's configuration.

The firewall on the cable/dsl router will block any "not asked for" connection (ie: if you didn't request it, then it's blocked). It allows all outoing connections though, so most trojans will still be effective, if you are infected with one.

__________________
"Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."
su root is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-23-03, 11:54 PM   #5
srs
Member

 
srs's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
Smoothwall set up on an old PC of mine. I love my smoothie.
srs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 06:39 AM   #6
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
FreeBSD using ipfilter.

I've got another box that all the machines on my wireless segment go through, it is nat'ing them and filtering them with pf on OpenBSD, only because I'm using it to set up some traffic shaping, not because i'm super paranoid and demand a redundant firewall.

I saw anyone who doesn't use a dedicated firewall box to firewall isn't serious.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 09:36 AM   #7
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
I'm using a sonicwall at home, and a linux box at work with IP tables.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 10:05 AM   #8
Ddruid_SMP
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri

 
At home and work I have custom (from scratch) Linux boxes based on modified 2.2.20 Kernels using iptables.
Ddruid_SMP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 11:26 AM   #9
KraziKid
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
I'm using a Windows Server 2003 box running the Routing and Remote Access service.
KraziKid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 11:43 AM   #10
Deathknight
Member

 
Deathknight's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Deathknight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 05:29 PM   #11
FarEast
Most Generous Member

 
FarEast's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: J@pan

 
Im using a Hardware Firewall and behind that McAfee Firewall
FarEast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 06:18 PM   #12
Blueacid
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: UK

10 Year Badge
 
Router with NAT, and ZoneAlarm on all PCs.
Blueacid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-03, 06:39 PM   #13
Beast Of Blight
Disabled

 
Beast Of Blight's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County

 
Router and Norton Security
Beast Of Blight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 09:03 AM   #14
engjohn
Senior Member

 
engjohn's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SoCal

 
Netopia VPN Router. Before that it was a Linux Box runnin' iptables...

__________________
<--- Dave and My Girlfriend in Atlanta, Ga at the Ritz Carlton!!! Yahoo!! (I took the PIC!!)

und KEINE EIER!!!
My Heatware
engjohn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 09:27 AM   #15
Ducker
Member

 
Ducker's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Dark Side of the Moon

 
I've been using Black Ice. No problems.......yet.

__________________
FOLD!!!
Ducker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 09:36 AM   #16
FunkDaMonkMan
Member

 
FunkDaMonkMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
router to the free zone alarm version.
FunkDaMonkMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 09:37 AM   #17
eh?
Member

 
eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Elkhart, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by KraziKid
I'm using a Windows Server 2003 box running the Routing and Remote Access service.
Thats dangerous, using windows as a firewall platform


Quote:
Smoothwall set up on an old PC of mine. I love my smoothie.
same here. Awesome little firewall.
www.smoothwall.org

__________________
Back and trolling six-fold.
eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 10:07 AM   #18
Chris
Member

 
Chris's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: England, UK

10 Year Badge
 
I run sygate for the moment, but i have a P166 waiting to be put to use that may run some sort of linux firewall/routing in the near future.

__________________
Folding@Home Team32
Chris is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 10:28 AM   #19
KraziKid
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by eh?
Quote:
Originally posted by KraziKid
I'm using a Windows Server 2003 box running the Routing and Remote Access service
Thats dangerous, using windows as a firewall platform
www.smoothwall.org
Not really. I've had friends with some black experience, and they couldn;t penetrate my firewall. Before this, I was running gentoo with iptables, and they are both equally secure according to my friends (I didn't tell them which OSes they were in advance).
KraziKid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 11:41 AM   #20
DarkArctic
Member

 
DarkArctic's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I've got a box running Astaro Security Linux. It's a very powerful firewall/router package and I'm glad I installed it.

-DarkArctic

__________________


"Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had."
-Linus Torvalds

My Heatware | Overclockers.com Front Page | Folding for Team 32 | You Are Here

DarkArctic is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?