Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

KT600 kV7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-03, 01:23 AM Thread Starter   #1
BubbaTheHut
Registered



Join Date: May 2003

 
Talking KT600 kV7


I have an NF7-S and it is the biggest pile ever. The eathernet doesn't work, mono channel speakers, and all of the usb is dead. So now i am looking in to a new mobo. I was wondering if you have heard anything about the KV7 good or bad. Does it have pci lock? Most VIA chipsets dont. Thank you for you time.

__________________
4ghz Core2 on air :)


If Einstien was so smart how come hes dead?!

I rest my case....
BubbaTheHut is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 08-25-03, 05:00 AM   #2
Steven4563
Member

 
Steven4563's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northants England

 
LOL u called your nf7-s **** LOL cool man but got to say i got this board a few days ago and im loving it i wouldnt get the kt600 just RMA your nf7-s is u didnt break it yourself

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 250x10 = 2.5ghz 1.55V Cooled By XP-120 & YS-TECH FD1238 Fan
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Edition
Corsair XMS TwinX 1Gig 2x512Meg PC4400 Ram @ 416Mhz 2,2,2,6 1T
Hercules 3D Prophet 9700NP 128Meg ( Bios Flashed To 9700Pro With VGA Sliencer )
480Gig Hard Drive Space
MSI 16x DVD Drive
Artec 52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Metallic Gray Case
Antec TruePower 550watt PSU ( New Version )
Windows XP Pro SP1
3DMark2001SE: 23014


4.9GHZ Of AMD Power For Overclockers.com Boinc Seti Team.
Steven4563 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 07:37 AM   #3
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
No PCI Locks, no matter what MoBo Manufacturer you go with none of them will have PCI Locks on a KT600 board no matter what they advertise.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 07:55 AM   #4
YviE
Member

 
YviE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Belgium & France

 
That's right, no VIA chipsets have PCI locks. But i still think the KT600 is a pretty good chipset. It might not be as good as the nForce but it's still a worthy competitor.
YviE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 09:44 AM   #5
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
I know, its still early for the KT600 & I'm sure after a few revisions it'll be better IF ABIT decides to support this product line. One thing really annoying with current MoBos out there is that if you have PATA drives & you want to go RAID you will have to buy adaptors & thats an added $50(for 2) on the KV7.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 06:56 PM Thread Starter   #6
BubbaTheHut
Registered



Join Date: May 2003

 
I tryed to RMA my board and they said to get the RMA# off of www.abit-usa.com. But the best part is that part of their site is down. And now the abid punks wont help me. So i duno if i wanna go with them again! Maybe just send a mail bomb.

__________________
4ghz Core2 on air :)


If Einstien was so smart how come hes dead?!

I rest my case....
BubbaTheHut is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-03, 06:58 PM Thread Starter   #7
BubbaTheHut
Registered



Join Date: May 2003

 
i have had my board for almost 9 months and it dident crap out tell now. Wait tell your bios goes when your trying to save to it. And it locks up. Happend to me 3 times....... stupid bios......

__________________
4ghz Core2 on air :)


If Einstien was so smart how come hes dead?!

I rest my case....
BubbaTheHut is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-03, 12:47 AM   #8
TonyMc

 
TonyMc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rathdrum ID

10 Year Badge
 
Could it just be you have V.1.2? I have the 2.0 and so far it's the best board I've owned.

__________________
Computer: I7 3820 42x100 @ 1.216v||Asus Rampage IV Extreme||GTX 780 Ti Reference||GSkill Ripjaws Z 2133 16gb||OCZ Agility 60gb SSD||Seagate Barracuda 1tb HDD||Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 850w PSU||Mountain Mods Pinnacle 24||1 Asus VS238H-P and 3 Dell S2740L
Water cooling: XSPC Raystorm||2x XSPC RX360||Swiftech MCB655 with Bitspower mod top and mod kit||Phobya Balancer 250||EK FC780 copper/acrylic WB||Bitspower Fittings
My Copper Pipe Build

My Heatware
Folding User Stats
TonyMc is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-03, 03:50 AM   #9
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
Whatever your problems with your current board I hope doesnt push you over the edge HERE is something you should read about the KT600.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-03, 10:11 AM   #10
Steven4563
Member

 
Steven4563's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northants England

 
if my board craps out ill just rma it coz i havent flashed the bios and this is also the best board ive had

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 250x10 = 2.5ghz 1.55V Cooled By XP-120 & YS-TECH FD1238 Fan
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Edition
Corsair XMS TwinX 1Gig 2x512Meg PC4400 Ram @ 416Mhz 2,2,2,6 1T
Hercules 3D Prophet 9700NP 128Meg ( Bios Flashed To 9700Pro With VGA Sliencer )
480Gig Hard Drive Space
MSI 16x DVD Drive
Artec 52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Metallic Gray Case
Antec TruePower 550watt PSU ( New Version )
Windows XP Pro SP1
3DMark2001SE: 23014


4.9GHZ Of AMD Power For Overclockers.com Boinc Seti Team.
Steven4563 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-03, 04:37 AM Thread Starter   #11
BubbaTheHut
Registered



Join Date: May 2003

 
I think its something to do with the v1.2. i bought a v2 but i gave it to my buddy cuz he sold his mobo and he needed a new one. My friend also had a v1.2 nothing but a bios from HE**!!! But he still has usb.....

__________________
4ghz Core2 on air :)


If Einstien was so smart how come hes dead?!

I rest my case....
BubbaTheHut is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-03, 12:02 PM   #12
Edward2
Member


 
Edward2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Folding@Home in Ball Ground, GA

10 Year Badge
 
BubbaTheHut, you said that the ABIT eRMA website was down when you tried to access it. You probably need to disable your Anti-Virus software and your Internet Firewall software. I had problems accessing their website until I tried disabling both of these on my home computer. Just don't forget to re-enable them when you are done.

BTW, I have had very good success with the ABIT RMA process myself.

__________________
Q9300 @ 3.4GHz, Asus P5Q Pro, 4GB OCZ Platinum DDR2-1066, GTX580 @ 900GPU, OCZ Vendetta 2, PC P&C 750W
i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz, Asus P8Z77, 4GB G Skill DDR3-1333, GTX580 @ 900GPU, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Corsair 850W
4x 6180SE @ 2.75GHz, SM H8QGi-F, 32GB G Skill DDR3-1333, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Redundant 1400W


Folding User Stats
Edward2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-03, 12:22 PM Thread Starter   #13
BubbaTheHut
Registered



Join Date: May 2003

 
Good call

__________________
4ghz Core2 on air :)


If Einstien was so smart how come hes dead?!

I rest my case....
BubbaTheHut is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?