Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

quick question b4 i buy

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-03, 03:28 AM Thread Starter   #1
Zigma
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001

 
quick question b4 i buy


The Barton Is better then the Thoroughbred Right?
Zigma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-03, 03:35 AM   #2
Rezin777
Member

 
Rezin777's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Rezin777 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-03, 03:38 AM Thread Starter   #3
Zigma
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001

 
i read that whole thread and i just want a simple yes or no but it looks like yes :P, I'm ordering a 2500+ from newegg as we speak. Hopefully i can OC it from reading that thread ;P
Zigma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-03, 12:45 PM   #4
shiyan
Member

 
shiyan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: behind the wheel

 
as long as your motherboard supports it, the Barton is better than the Thoroughbred for the same frequency due to the larger cache.

I'm not sure about performance/price though.
shiyan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-03, 12:56 PM   #5
unreal
Registered

 
unreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami

 
yes

__________________
Main system xeon x3440 (oc'ed to 3.5) ASrock p55 extreem / mastercooler hyper 212
Nvidia 250 (oc'ed attempting)
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Thermaltake toughpower 750 xt
300gig seagate 8mb cache 7200 (boot)
400gig seagate 8mb cache 7200
1TB Samsung 32mb cache 7200
74gig western digital 8mb cache 10,000

MyHeatware
unreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-12-03, 11:18 PM   #6
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
The Barton is the next generation after the Tbred B..
so it should be better right...it has a larger L2 cache also..

I'd go with an Athlon XP2500..with an Abit NF7-s rev. 2.0 if your interested in overclocking..also if overclocking the ram that u get is VERY important, I can not emphasize that enough..

Good luck..

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-13-03, 06:05 AM   #7
Ununquadium114
Disabled

 
Ununquadium114's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
the barton has a higher cache, although you won't be able to tell the difference. I would go with the Barton over TBred though.
Ununquadium114 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?