• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What would be the best cost/proformace ram for an IC7-G with a 2.4c

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n0xide

Just like the topic says. im getting an IC7-G with a 2.4c to overclock and I just wanna know what you guys think would be the best for the price. Currently im going to get a gig of crucial 3200 ddr 400. But im new to intel so what would your opinions be. Lemme know wussup thats why the OCforums own.

Try a 1GB (buy 2 512MB) of Buffalo PC3700 from New Egg ($99 each). Then run it at ~200-220 MHz with low timings (2-3-3 or lower). It's supposedly rated at 233MHz (DDR466) but turns out to be great DDR400/DDR433 at a very competetive cost compared to other low-latency PC3200. It supposedly uses WinBond BH-5 chips, which is the same used in $200+ Mushkin memory. For only $198 shipped, you will get a 1GB (2x512MB) of some memory that will allow you to get top-$250+ performance.

from what I know the buffalo 3700 is bh-5, and the pcb is pretty good too. If you aren't doing too much oc'ing than it should be able to get 2-2-2-x or close to it with about 2.9v. If you are planning on hitting 290+fsb might want to get some khx 2-2-2-x with bh-5 chips. I plan on doing 300+fsb so with 5:4 i need ram that can do 2-2-2-x near ddr500 so I am getting some khx bh-5 and I am gonna run them around 3.2v...

the khx 3000 and 3200 are pretty cheap too. Corsair 3500 v1.1 and mushkin lvl2 runs bh-5, but they are pretty pricey

i got some komusa dual channel hyperram(pc4000) about a week and a half ago for 160 with free shipping. i emailed them b4 buying and inquired what chips are employed. they said the hyperram is made of adata pc4000 chips made by an oem or 2nd party manufacturer built to their specs.. im gonna test this stuff this weekend ill let u know how it runs...