• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel 2.4c First Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tn2003

Registered
Hello everyone I am currently buying stuff for my first intel comp. So far I have ordered this stuff:

Abit IC7-G
Intel 2.4C

I need help on memory now. I plan on getting the OZC pc4000 gold, but i dont know if I should buy 1x512mb or 2x256mb. I only have $260 left and I would like your advice. Thanks

I plan to overclock and in my sig are the stuff im gonna bring on over.

You most definitely want 2 memory sticks on a 865/875 motherboard. They are nothing special at all in single channel mode.

yeah i was thinking that. I guess im gonna go dual channel but now the question is should i get the 512mb now and get an another one 2 months later? Or wil 2x256mb be enough? Im a full time college student so im poor. Help plz, Thanks

To be honest you could get by on 256mb if you really had to. But 512MB is a lot more resonable and 1GB is no overkill these days. You can try buying one 512MB now and one later, but you never know if you will get the same ram if you do that. Dual channel configurations on Intel boards strongly prefer exactly matched sticks and buying both at the same time is highly advisable.

The trick to engineering an optimal Intel system is in (properly) guessing the clock rate your cpu will end up allowing. If your cpu is a good one it would do 3300MHz. This would be a fsb of 275MHz. You then run the 5:4 memory ratio for 220x2 MHz. This is very feasible with the Buffalo PC3700 ram that is only $99 per 512MB at newegg. This is probably what I would do in your situation.