• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What tool is best for cutting a window?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nick Burns

Your company's computer guy
I am thinking about getting a new case and doing my own window mod, but I don't have the money for power tools and I don't have any right now. I do have a drill, but that is it. I have seen those "nibbler" tools. DO they work? Nibbler I also might add a couple of blowholes in the case. What should I get to do this? I am not very good with a drill, but I could probably handly a hole saw, but then what do I do for the screws for the fan mounting?

A jig saw!! although a nibbler will work, you will have one hurting fore arm and a dremel is much better than the nibbler but it still will take a much longer time than a jig saw. A Dremel is better for making fine shapes and cleaning up edges, not for large cuts. My $.02 I also would use masking tape on the bottom of the jig saw if you have to cut on the painted side of the case and a combo of the Dremel and Jig saw would suit you best and if you find you need more Horse Power than a Dremel look into a spiral saw from SEARs its the same price but 10X+ more powerful!! here is a thread from a bit back on the SEARs tool and the stuff it comes with http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=221076&highlight=sears
PS I recommend the Dremel before the SEARs tool

Last edited:
Nibbler tools work but if u can afford it, get a dremel, they aren't too expensive and easy to use. If you decide to go with the nibbler, use gloves you'll get blisters. For the screws, just drill holes for them. Good luck and have fun

I hate nibblers. I had to use one in woodshop to cut some metal for a project and i swear i took 6 nibbles and my hand was throbbing. Then i told the shop teacher and he used a jigsaw ^_^