• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

rookie needing oc advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PECFowler

Registered
i'm brand new to overclocking and i need help...
i have a celeron 2.4 system, with a soyo dragon 2 mboard, also 512 kingston ddr166mhz, seagate 120gb hdd, housebrand copper core heatsink/fan, 2 80mm chassis fans antec 350w smart blue pw supply

what is my best course of action to take if i plan to overclock it? any advice would be greatly appreciated.

i am also looking for a relatively cheap but well performing graphics card what are some good brands/ models fitting that description?
:D :D :D

hmm im not sure your mobo is ideal for overclocking. You need a agp/pci lock and i dont think that mobo supports it.

also your ram is very outdated and i doubt you'll be able to overclock very far with it.

although i think you mean its ddr333 not ddr166 (i hope) if its ddr333 than youll have better luck with overclocking it

anyway, go into bios and increase the fsb in small steps and check for stability with benchmark like 3mark03 or prime95.

once you hit your limit you can try raising the voltage a little and see if that helps for stability. im not sure what optimum voltages are for that chip.

if you can, id leave the fsb:mem ratio at 3:2 if you have such an option in bios since your ram isnt that great.

wrong on ram

the ram is ddr266mhz

also what is optimum temp on my processor?

where do i get the tools for overclocking(the ones mentioned above?)