• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie to OC please help me boost my system.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kyppyk

Registered
Hi everyone. I am new to OC. I have read through some of the newbie files. This is what i have for a system.

1.2 amd 266 axia y chip
MS-6341 (K7-Master)
512 DDR Samsung and Micron CL2.5
40gb 7200 Maxtor
Geforce2 ultra 64m
Creative Sound
Coolermaster heatsink and fan
2 case fan

I guess I was lucky because the chip came with the L1 and L2 already connected. I have been able to get the chip to run at 1400 for 2 days solid by changing the volt to 1.675 and just changing the mulitplier to 10.5. The case temp is 36 and the cpu boots up at 51. However, when I run Half-life the temp moves to about 53-54 cpu and 38 or so for the case.

What I need to know is whether the heatsink I have is suffient for the increase in temp? What should be the max temp (still within safe parameters) the CPU be? Should I be looking at other cooling methods if I don't want to take the CPU any higher? Can I run the system indefinetly this way without hurting the life expectancy of the CPU?

Thanks everyone for their help and suggestions.
Kyppyk

get a Delta Black label fan and some earplugs!!! you probably should invest in a better HSF. I use the WBK-38 and it works great!!

I have the same motherboard with 1.33Ghz and that temp sounds right. I have Thermoengine with 7K Delta fan and I get about 51C on startup and up to about 53C after 3DMark testing. So I don't think you'll be able to lower temp that much with better heatsink unless you're gonna overclock.