Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

help with barton 2500 oc

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-03, 03:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
cujo
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
help with barton 2500 oc


ok i got my barton 2500 stable (14 hours prime then i stopped) at 200x11.5 at 1.7 volts with load of 48C. to do (2 hours prime then i stopped)200x12 requires 1.83 volts and load temp is 53C. prime for these was run in "small FFTs" setting which is supposed to be highest cpu strain.

now a couple questions i have:

first, is my temp now limiting me? it was a big voltage jump from 2.3 to 2.4ghz.

second, how do i go about ocing my ram? i want highest possible fsb with my current timings of 2-2-2-11. review i read said they got 212fsb with same ram. i'd be happy with 209. i briefly tried 209x11 at same vcore as did 200x11.5 and couldn't stay stable in prime95 using blend. i upped first the chipset voltage (to 1.7) then the ram voltage (to 2.7) and then both together and it still would not stay stable. keep in mind that my ram default says 2.6 in bios but hw doc reads at 2.68.

i guess i'm happy at 200x11.5 but i'd love the benefits of higher fsb.

thanks for any help you can give me.
cujo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-03, 04:58 PM   #2
shadowdr
Senior Member

 
shadowdr's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: nashville, tennesse U.S.A.

10 Year Badge
 
Have you tried an 80 mm 5000 rpm fan? I think you need more air across that slk-900 than a 2900 rpm fan will do.

__________________
Asus M4A89TD Pro USB3
AMD Phenom II x4 975BE @4.1
2x2 gig Patriot 2x4 gig Ripjaws@ 8-8-8-24
2x 128 Crucial M4 SSD for OS and one for Programs
2x 640 WD Blacks for storage
Rosewill Blackhawk case and Antec 750 New PS
Corsair H100I cooling
XFX 290
JVC 32 inch LCD TV
Windows 7 Pro X64

Heat
shadowdr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-03, 06:01 PM   #3
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Try to run at 210x11 instead this will put you at 2310. and if that doesn't work try 210x10.5.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-03, 07:17 PM Thread Starter   #4
cujo
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
it's not a 2900rpm fan. it'll do 5400rpm if i want to go deaf. if heat is the limiting factor then i will stop and not go higher til i get my new swiftech with 92mm panaflo.

210 will do better than 209?
cujo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-03, 08:22 PM   #5
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by cujo
210 will do better than 209?


Well lets see higher FSB and the mulity is lower. This way you could hit a higher FSB and have your ram do what it should do.

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-03, 09:24 PM Thread Starter   #6
cujo
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
215 seems stable with 2.8vcore. at least it passed memtest86. funny though cause prime wasn't even stable at 209 at that voltage.
cujo is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?