Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-03, 05:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
Hedgehogforprez
Member

 
Hedgehogforprez's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?


Much less a 3.8EE ????

http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/index.htm

If you look at that link you will see that it says it comes with a 3.8 EE, strange I thought only 3.2 was coming into play??
Hedgehogforprez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:23 PM   #2
Deathknight
Member

 
Deathknight's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Its overclocked is all. I would think it is also vaporware as well. I didn't know that these chips were already being sold?
Deathknight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:25 PM   #3
mrgreenjeans
Member

 
mrgreenjeans's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cleveland, GA

 
That's what it says, and with a 950Mhz FSB. I'm wondering if they've got a 3.2 overclocked? A little pricey, but a nice looking config, but i'd rather build it myself!

__________________
"A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing."
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe bios 1009 w/FX-60 on a Zalman Resterator
Corsair 2048 TwinX3500LL matched dual channel 1:1 @ 2-3-3-6
BFG8800GTXwc768 DVI~Sharp Aquos LC-46D92U
BFG Ageia PhysX card
36g Raptor boot, 150g Velociraptor game drive, and 320g storage drive
LG GGC-H20L BR & HD
Auzentech xPlosion 5.1 ~ Sony DA3ES Receiver~ Infinity's
Silverstone LC-10m w/Silverstone Strider ST60 PSU
Win XP pro
mrgreenjeans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:38 PM   #4
Bengan
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden

 
* 3.8GHz Accelerated Intel Pentium 4 Hyper-Threading CPU (3.20GHz base clock speed).
** 950MHz Accelerated System Bus from 800MHz base clock speed.

Ehm...
Bengan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:51 PM   #5
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
it that legal? to sell an overclocked processor?
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:57 PM   #6
shiyan
Member

 
shiyan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: behind the wheel

 
I think it's been done before.

I remember the first 1Ghz machine was a Thunderbird overclocked to 1Ghz in a fridge. (forgot name, not Vapochill or Prometeia though. The other really expensive one)

It's not illegal. Intel will probably not provide any support though.
shiyan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 05:58 PM   #7
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
what are they talking about when they say
" PuRamô No System Hard Drive Configurable
Up to 1.000 faster than ATA/SCSI/FC HD based
designs with Data Burst Speeds up to 8GB/s"


and that is upto 1 times faster if it bursts...hmm..unless if that is a comma..otherwise this is ALL marketing..and the whole thing sucks beyond reason...

__________________
Dual Xeon X5482 E0 3.2/12M/1600 (400x8 1.26v)
Supermicro X7DWA-N, 14GB ECC/Fully Buffered (400, 5-5-5, 1.8v)
Radeon 5770 1GB
Triple LCDs (22/22/24")
Boot: 5x SAS/15K Drives in RAID5 (~350mb/s)
Storage: 17 hard drives from 10K to 15K RPM. All SCSI Hot Swap.
PCP&C 1.2KW Single 12v, 90A Rail
Auzen X-FI Prelude <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Sennheiser HD650 Headphones.
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 06:43 PM   #8
shiyan
Member

 
shiyan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: behind the wheel

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Foxie3a
what are they talking about when they say
" PuRamô No System Hard Drive Configurable
Up to 1.000 faster than ATA/SCSI/FC HD based
designs with Data Burst Speeds up to 8GB/s"


and that is upto 1 times faster if it bursts...hmm..unless if that is a comma..otherwise this is ALL marketing..and the whole thing sucks beyond reason...
I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.

I don't quite see how it sucks beyond reason... It should be quite a fast computer, seeing how it uses pretty much all the best components (okay, nearly all the best components, as I don't want to start arguing about P4EE vs FX or ATI vs Nvidia). Although I must admit it does cost a lot.
shiyan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 08:10 PM   #9
Socko4Life
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vineland, NJ

 
3200Mhz/200FSB=16xMultiplier
16xMultiplier*(950FSB/4)=3800Ghz

Yep it's a 3.2 overclocked. Not the first time its been done, as I've seen some 3200+ pushed to 3800+ before and sold in systems with a Vapochill.
Socko4Life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 08:50 PM   #10
Aslan
Member

 
Aslan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Vancouver, Canada

 
I have to admit that it is quite interesting, especially with the PCI slot expandability (although I doubt I would actually ever need that many slots, i'm only using one right now). It is quite different than other pre-built computers, but I still would rather build my own.

__________________
RIP Tanya 1986-2008

. . . . . . .. . . ... . .
Aslan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 09:34 PM   #11
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
Building your own is the only way to go, unless if you don't have the time or need..

__________________
Dual Xeon X5482 E0 3.2/12M/1600 (400x8 1.26v)
Supermicro X7DWA-N, 14GB ECC/Fully Buffered (400, 5-5-5, 1.8v)
Radeon 5770 1GB
Triple LCDs (22/22/24")
Boot: 5x SAS/15K Drives in RAID5 (~350mb/s)
Storage: 17 hard drives from 10K to 15K RPM. All SCSI Hot Swap.
PCP&C 1.2KW Single 12v, 90A Rail
Auzen X-FI Prelude <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Sennheiser HD650 Headphones.
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 10:21 PM   #12
Baalthazaar
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by shiyan
[B]

I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.
B]

Would motherboards today even be able to take advantage of a solid state hard drive? How would you get the data to the processor? PATA and SATA would restrict the dataflow just like USB/Firewire does with external solid state drives (jump drives etc). Still it would be nice to have an OS install on such a drive.
Baalthazaar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 11:05 PM   #13
dustybyrd
Senior Member

 
dustybyrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA

10 Year Badge
 
holy cow these are the fastest desktop computers and servers available...

http://www.go-l.com/store/index.htm

read all the stuff and you'll see...

that they spared no expense at using the highest quality, most expensive components in these systems...

those hard drives that the operating systems are stored on are, i think, like RAM drives...instant booting

all i have to say is: wow

__________________
  • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
    2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
    2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
    2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
    [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]
dustybyrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 11:09 PM   #14
Socko4Life
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vineland, NJ

 
8GB per second of read speed is uber!!!!!!!!! I need to get me one of those!
Socko4Life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 11:34 PM   #15
speedy4500
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by shiyan
I think it's been done before.

I remember the first 1Ghz machine was a Thunderbird overclocked to 1Ghz in a fridge. (forgot name, not Vapochill or Prometeia though. The other really expensive one)

It's not illegal. Intel will probably not provide any support though.
Yes, you're thinking of Kryotech. I don't think it would matter if Intel provides support, I'm assuming if you're gonna cough up $10,000 for a system advertised at 3.8 GHz, the company itself would provide excellent support.

I want to know about the 20.1" LCD they have with 14 ms Tf+Tr response time!!! Look at the response time specs for the middle column!!!

__________________
n/a
speedy4500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 11:37 PM   #16
myzhi
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by shiyan


I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.

I don't quite see how it sucks beyond reason... It should be quite a fast computer, seeing how it uses pretty much all the best components (okay, nearly all the best components, as I don't want to start arguing about P4EE vs FX or ATI vs Nvidia). Although I must admit it does cost a lot.

Don't think it's a HD. It's probably stacks of ram sticks configure to run like a HD. That's the only way it can get up to 8 GB/s bandwidth.
myzhi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-03, 11:45 PM   #17
Namagomi
Disabled

 
Namagomi's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma

 
Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?


Quote:
Originally posted by Hedgehogforprez
Much less a 3.8EE ????

http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/index.htm

If you look at that link you will see that it says it comes with a 3.8 EE, strange I thought only 3.2 was coming into play??
That entire website is a hoax, or vaporware
Namagomi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-03, 12:00 AM   #18
myzhi
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
Re: Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?


Quote:
Originally posted by Namagomi


That entire website is a hoax, or vaporware

"It is also the first commercially available Personal SuperComputer with an Accelerated Front Side Bus speed of 950Mhz taking Intel's Pentium 4 CPU to speeds 3.8GHz* and ready to support next generation Pentium 5 Prescott CPU."




=> It's an o/c 3.2@3.8 on 237.5 FSB probably using vaporchill. Thus, it's possible.
myzhi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-03, 12:13 AM   #19
Namagomi
Disabled

 
Namagomi's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma

 
Re: Re: Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?


Quote:
Originally posted by myzhi



"It is also the first commercially available Personal SuperComputer with an Accelerated Front Side Bus speed of 950Mhz taking Intel's Pentium 4 CPU to speeds 3.8GHz* and ready to support next generation Pentium 5 Prescott CPU."




=> It's an o/c 3.2@3.8 on 237.5 FSB probably using vaporchill. Thus, it's possible.
Cute and all, but too bad you can't buy it.

Like I said, this entire site is a hoax, or vaporware.
Namagomi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-03, 12:22 AM   #20
alpha_gamer
Member

 
alpha_gamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canadia

 
Is it wrong to want to sleep with one of those rigs in your bed?
That is quite possibly the coolest thing I have ever seen. 8 gigs a second! You could hit your power button, and by the time you were facing the monitor again the rig would already be booted. Forget a car, university, clothes, and food. I'm saving up for one of those!
alpha_gamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?