• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Just need some reassurance here...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ptweasel

I finally got my GFD about a week ago, so I cracked open my Athlon classic 750 and found it had a 900 core. Here are the #'s it had:

Case:
AMD-K7750MTR52B A
Core:
K7900CNRBEA

So, over the last week, I've set up Mathlon to set the cache to 1/3 and got it running at 1.0gig. Idling it usually stays about 38C and averages about 44C after about 4 hours of Q3 demo loop. I tried setting the GFD to the highest setting of 1050, but I get no POST at all, just a black screen. I'm assuming it's the L2 cache that's the problem.

I think I could squeeze a few extra Mhz out of it if I upped the FSB, but my TV Tuner card is picky, so I don't really wanna mess w/ it.

I'm pretty new at this, so I figured I'd post some pics to make sure you guys thought everything looks safe.

The only real cooling I have is the hsf that the guy gave me when I bought the proc, and I don't know what it is so I posted a pic below. Other than that I've got nothin', unless you call leaving the sides off the case "cooling".

The only other thing I was worried about are my voltages. I have a turd of a 300W PSU from an Enlight case (ack). Whatever vcore setting I set on the GFD, it runs about 0.07V above the setting.

Anyway, any input you guys (and gals) have would be appreciated

[img="[URL]http://members.home.net/ptweasel1/oc2.jpg[/URL]"]

[img="[URL]http://members.home.net/ptweasel1/oc.gif[/URL]"]

-----------------------------------------
Epox 7kxa
Athlon 750 .18 classid
320MB PC133 CAS3
SBLive Value
Hercules 3D Prophet2 MX 32MB
Win98SE/Win2k dual boot

I installed a couple of 3-1/2" 4000rpm case fans today, one on the left panel blowing in and one on the right panel blowing out.