• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A Beginner's Guide To Securing a Wireless Network

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
Full Article - Overclockers.com

From The Article - "A Beginner's Guide To Securing a Wireless Network" - Paul Macklin (a.k.a. macklin01) - 9/26/03

Disclaimer:
I am by no means an expert at networking or network security. I am writing this article as an overview of the techniques I have learned that a relative novice at wireless networking can easily implement to improve wireless networking security with minimal confusion. It should be understood as a starting point on the quest for greater wireless networking security, not the complete solution.

Rather than help with the actual setup of your network, this guide instead focuses on the configuration of the various security options that may be available to you.

Introduction
I recently set up a wireless home network for my apartment. In my previous apartment, I had strung up a simple 10/100 hub and nailed some cable-holders along the perimeter of the walls to hold the cables. However, I didn't think the apartment owners in Orange County, CA, would appreciate this sort of option, so I decided to go wireless. It has been a tremendous improvement for aesthetics and simplicity, but security is an issue.

Consider, for example, the recent campaign by the RIAA to sue internet users who illegally share copyrighted music. If you examine these cases a little more closely, you'll notice that they don't even determine which computer did the sharing, but rather which IP address was responsible.