Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

5.8ghz wireless?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-03, 09:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
amok time
Member

 
amok time's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellsville, PA

 
5.8ghz wireless?


Whats the best range I can get with current wireless access points? I think it's at 2.4ghz right now, are they going to bring out 5.8ghz?
amok time is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 10:40 AM   #2
Beast Of Blight
Disabled

 
Beast Of Blight's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County

 
I believe the 5.8Ghz one of the new 802.11 standards, And if memory serves it will be just the same range, if not a tad shorter than 802.11b.

The move to higher frequency, i believe, for the most part is just to move into an unused spectrum. Since EVERYTHING and its mother uses 2.4Ghz. Cellphones, cordless phones, microwaves, everything operates at 2.4Ghz which can cause noise and loss of isgnal quality in wireless networks.
Beast Of Blight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 10:44 AM   #3
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
all the 802.11a use 5 ghz frequency
http://reviews.cnet.com/4502-3243_7-...erby=-7eRating

EDIT: by the way right now "A" has limited range. "g" type is still the best right now
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 11:30 AM Thread Starter   #4
amok time
Member

 
amok time's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellsville, PA

 
Thanks for all the info.. The more I read up on wireless the more I dread having to run hard lines. Would love to have a wireless nw so I can use my laptop up by my fire pit. oh well, maybe next year.
amok time is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 12:26 PM Thread Starter   #5
amok time
Member

 
amok time's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellsville, PA

 
ok one more question, what would it take to blanket a 5 mile rat around my house?
amok time is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 06:40 PM   #6
fiji
Member

 
fiji's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: berlin

 
Quote:
Originally posted by amok time
Thanks for all the info.. The more I read up on wireless the more I dread having to run hard lines. Would love to have a wireless nw so I can use my laptop up by my fire pit. oh well, maybe next year.
after having to deal with wireless stuff for a while--- i find it quite the opposite


i love having a wired network, the drivers are usually very easy to find/come with the OS~~~ unlike the wireless where some components simply wouldnt work (drivers, or just faulty hardware)


not to mention all the interference that came with it, with our wireless phones


and after we got used to it, we hardly even moved the computers anywhere


and wired networks are faster (lol only important to me for when i go to someone elses LAN and we share files)


and wired networks are cheaper

__________________
---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

running Win7x64
fiji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 06:55 PM   #7
USAPGAPRO
Member

 
USAPGAPRO's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shreveport, La

 
wow, 5.8ghz wireless. Thats awesome.

__________________
Abit NF7-S rev. 2.0
( AMD XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 "X" @ 10.5 x 223 = 2341.5mhz
Corsair XMS3500 Platinum 433mhz
Cheiftec Server case w/ window Mod & Foxconn 450w PS
IBM Deskstar 120GXP
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro Samsung SyncMaster 152T LCD 15"
Lite On 16X DVD Thermaltake SLK-800 4-80mm 40.1CFM case fans
Copper Round Cables
Microsoft Wireless Optical Blue Mouse
D-Link DI-614+ wireless Cable Router
Green Cold Cathodes
USAPGAPRO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 09:17 PM   #8
tatanka
Member

 
tatanka's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, Ca

 
Quote:
Originally posted by amok time
ok one more question, what would it take to blanket a 5 mile rat around my house?
I think it would be possible to get that range with an omni-directional antennae and some type of signal booster... but I also think the FCC would start knockin at your door if you were broadcasting a signal that powerfull
tatanka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 09:31 PM   #9
Ddruid_SMP
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri

 
You can go a greater distance using 5.8ghz (UNII not 802.11a) equipment than you can with 802.11b. I have multiple 5.8ghz Redline links from 20miles to 27miles:



View in direction of other end of ptp link (5.8ghz 22miles, 36Mb/s)


Other end of ptp link. (aka The Nasty Tower, for obvious reasons)

Ddruid_SMP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-03, 09:34 PM   #10
Ddruid_SMP
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri

 
Quote:
Originally posted by tatanka


I think it would be possible to get that range with an omni-directional antennae and some type of signal booster... but I also think the FCC would start knockin at your door if you were broadcasting a signal that powerfull
FCC limit is no radio output greater than 1w (30db) and EIRP no greater than 4w (36db). For that distance no amp will be needed if you use a 200mw card (23db) and a 9db omni which results in 32db eirp estimated.. I can cover an area with a radius of 10-12miles with 4w (36db) eirp.

I just posted on another forum some pics of me setting our new office up connecting to our wireless network at 7.13 miles: here

In order to blanket an area of say 7miles, you'll need:

Omni-direction antenna's, Horizontal omni on left Vertical omni on right.


And a Good AP:
100mw orinoco's

or
200mw PrismII


Some cable:
7/8 Heliax

or
LMR600


And about 200-300' of tower..

Last edited by Ddruid_SMP; 10-02-03 at 10:15 PM.
Ddruid_SMP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-03, 08:43 AM Thread Starter   #11
amok time
Member

 
amok time's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellsville, PA

 
hmmm, looks like I will be buying amd for a while if I will be able to afford this one. I have 3x 20, Polls w/ power over an area of about 5 miles or so. I live on the side of a mountain, trying to network with the locals to get 3x cable modem (as soon as we get cable that is)
amok time is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-03, 08:53 AM Thread Starter   #12
amok time
Member

 
amok time's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellsville, PA

 
Ddruid_SMP - I need 1 Vertical omni per house? & 1 Horizontal Omni in the mid? I hate to ask this druid, how much did them antennaes coast?

To bad you cant use old dss dish's got a ton of them.
amok time is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-03, 01:53 PM   #13
Ddruid_SMP
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri

 
Quote:
Originally posted by amok time
Ddruid_SMP - I need 1 Vertical omni per house? & 1 Horizontal Omni in the mid? I hate to ask this druid, how much did them antennaes coast?

To bad you cant use old dss dish's got a ton of them.
Your omni will be located on the tower (1 per tower in most cases). You have a choice between a horizontally polorized omni or a vertically polorized omni. Polarization is a rather large topic in itself, but basically it refers to the direction of wave (amplitude) in relation to the earth. In my experience you get greater distance with vertical, but it is more sensitive to trees, I have gotten around trees using a horizonally poloarized equipment. The customer side must match whatever polarization you have at the tower, so if you use a vertical omni then whatever antenna you place at the customer side must be vertical as well (in 99.99% of the cases).

Vertical omni's run about $50-$70
Horizontal omnis about $200 - $300
The first AP pictured runs about $400 without radio's or software.
Second AP runs $500 without radio (came with software)
LMR600 $1-$2/ft
7/8 Heliax $3-$5/ft
LMR400 $.75-$1.50/ft
200' Rohn 25 tower Turn key $8-$10k

On the customer side (have a look here )
14-24db Antenna's run $30-$80
Cheap orinoco USB radio $80
Pigtail $30


You *MAY* be able to use the satelite dishes, I believe someone has done it before, try looking on the net..
Ddruid_SMP is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?