• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New P4 2.4B Stepping

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
The "C" CPUs have been the D1 stepping since their release last spring and average 3.2 to 3.4 gig with good cooling.

Hi Batboy.

What do you mean by the C cpu's?:) Sorry i am new at this. Do you mean C1 stepping?

Is the SL6Q8 a good one? Its D1, oh and other details are:
Prod code BX80532PE2400DSL6Q8
MM # 850349
FPO/Batch # Q333A210
VERSION # C30095-002

p.s. i asked the shop to look for me :)

edit: i am after the 2.4B as my motherboard doesn't support the 800fsb 2.4C's. I have a i845 mobo and no money to switch to a i865/i875 :(

Cheers.
Kenn.

The 800 bus CPUs are the "C" chips and they are all D1 steppings. I'm assuming the 533 bus CPUs in the new D1 stepping would overclock something similar.

Hi Batboy.

Thanks for that:) Hopefully i have some luck:)
Also i am running a P4 [email protected] now, if i went with the 2.4B@3Ghz or so , can i tell a noticible speed increase in both general usage and in games? I have a radeon 9500 128mb now.

Cheers.
Kenn.

k3nnis said:
Hi Batboy.

Thanks for that:) Hopefully i have some luck:)
Also i am running a P4 [email protected] now, if i went with the 2.4B@3Ghz or so , can i tell a noticible speed increase in both general usage and in games? I have a radeon 9500 128mb now.

Cheers.
Kenn.
yes going from 2.1ghz to 3ghz is definately noticeable in just about anything requiring much processing power.

Hi Maxvla.

Thanks for the info. So in games my frame rates would increase? May i ask whichi stepping is your 2.4B? C1? The one in the shops now are D1 for the 2.4B. These are better at overclocking you think?:p I am planning to run on air cooling, thermaltake Volcano 7+ or the stock intel fan, can i still do 3Ghz? What voltage is safe for the cpu? 1.65v?

Cheers.