• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help a college student out, please!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NeoGeo

Hi, I am a senior Computer Engineering student at Drexel University and I could use the help of my fellow forum members.

Me and 2 other classmates in my team are required to design and build a unique and working "device", software or hardware, that solves a computer/electrical related problem. If it has been done before, then we must improve upon the existing design.

What I could use are some computer related problems that haven't been solved or suggestions for something that woud make life easier. Keep in mind we actually have to build the thing and we are given ~4 months to do so. Also, your ideas don't haven't to be marketable, just interesting and doable.

An example, although already invented and sold, would be a tracking device that uses existing GPS technology to monitor where your loved ones are, here's a link ...would be nice item to rent while vacationing at DisneyLand.

So far my team has 1 idea, feedback is appreciated:

1) A weekly alarm clock that can be programmed to wake you up according to your schedule and not just the same time every morning. Many popular computer software programs allow you to do this, but our idea involves an actual alarm clock (no PC needed)

Thanks greatly for any help you could give my team,

George

P.S: Mods, if this is in the wrong forum then please move it.

You could build a web workstation that doesn't have a hard drive. Hence the OS is unbreakable. Add a usb pen drive to it for saving files. Take an existing Linux OS, like Knoppix and remaster the OS to your own specifications.

It could be a minimal hardware PC and fairly inexpensive.

Arkaine23 said: