• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

overclocking a 1GHz athlon

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blader_insane

ok.....i have a 1GHz athlon and i'm a newb at overclocking...i need info on how to overclock my athlon but the sad part is my 1GHz athlon is overheating even when its not overclocked cuz i only have 2 fans...i have to have a huge fan next to the open case.....my budget is like 200-300 bux....i would like the CPU to run at like 1300+MHz....how many fans and how much money would it cost me?....where can i get more info on overclocking.....?

lets get a system rundown! Such as motherboard, hsf, what the two fans you run are etc. We can get you there probably well within that price range.

You have a great chip there dood, Hopefully it is an AXIA or AVIA (the code on top of your CPU). This awesome chip will do 1.4 easy with good cooling. Good Luck!!

blader, if you indeed having overheating issues, this is the first thing that needs to be addressed.

In addition to the items that William has requested, it would be helpful to know how you are getting your temperatures reported, and what symptoms you are experiencing from overheating.

The more information about your hardware and overall cooling situation, ambient temperatures, case, CPU and the means that these temperatures were arrived at, the better the likelihood of getting you some relief from the heat.

T

I had the same problem with my 1ghz tbird (axia). It got overheated with cover off and the super orb. I understood that the superorb suck.

Well. You won´t give up that easy when you just spent 26 dollars on a pretty bad heatsink.