Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Sudden AMD Death

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-03, 07:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
KlinKx
Member

 
KlinKx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: CT

 
Sudden AMD Death


I have been running an Athlon 1600 AGOIA for about six months now, stable at 155x11.5. The other day I removed my waterblock for a few system tweaks. When reinstalling my old air cooling ... nothing. I couldn't get it to post. To make a long story short, I tried it in another machine, nothing. Tried another chip in this machine, worked fine. Undid the unlock on this chip, still nothing. I've have tried absolutely everything and I can't get this chip to work. The core is in perfect condition and everything is clean and straight.

Any ideas? Could it really be dead [along with my MaxiJet]?
KlinKx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-03, 07:58 PM   #2
modenaf1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the terran system

 
maxijet? huh?

anyways, if it was SADS, "sudden athlon death sydrome" chances are it would have died for no reason at all, but since it happened while taking a heatsink/waterblock off and putting something back on, there are sevral possibilities:
1.)the core may be cracked,chipped,crushed, or damaged
2.)You may have bent one of the pins
3.)Some conductive thermal compound is shorting out a bridge
4.)The heatsink may not have been installed correctly causing it to overheat and burn.

well these are just some possibilities i can think of.

Good luck!
-f1
modenaf1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-03, 08:44 PM   #3
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Did you say the chip works on other machines but not on yours now? If so, blessing in disguise. Sell the Palomino on eBay and up your PR rating by 1000+ on the cheap:

1800+ @ newegg (Big gamble by risking getting a T-Bred A instead of a B at newegg)

or guaranteed B here:

1700+ & 1800+ (That's just the two of those, not higher rated CPUs) at this place:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...oryCode=010413
(click on 'next' at the bottom of the page.)

2100+ (that's just the 2100+, not lower rated CPUs) at newegg.com:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...tby=14&order=1


OEM's (not retail) are guaranteed.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-03, 09:18 PM Thread Starter   #4
KlinKx
Member

 
KlinKx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: CT

 
Sorry, I guess I wasn't clear. Another chip worked fine in this machine, this chip didn't work in any machine.

I grabbed a Duron 1600 to play with for the mean time.
KlinKx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-03, 12:25 AM   #5
mata2974
Member

 
mata2974's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
Thats what happened to me, luckly I still have warranty from AMD
mata2974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?