Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

what memory to get?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-03, 10:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
hunka27
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
what memory to get?


what would be a better choice for setting up dual channel DDR on my GA-8IPE1000?

2 x 256MB with a 2.5 latency for $199.

or

2 x 512MB with a 3.0 latency for $293.75

both brands are OCZ DDR533. I know both latency and the amount of memory affect the performance but i don't know what matters more. thanks. I know obviously i can get 2 512mb with a 2.5 latency but its too much money. any input would be appreciated. I will be overclocking by the way just to make that clear.
hunka27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-03, 12:42 PM   #2
YellowDart
Member

 
YellowDart's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ

 
Go for the gig o' ram in dual channel mode. You'll get better performance with that setup.

__________________
XBL Gamertag: Cr0wN0 .:. Steam ID: yell0wdart

Powdered Toast Man
~
p4 2.6c @ 3.3 ducted to TT SF2 .:. 1g corsiar xms 400mhz .:. DFI PS83-BL .:. (RIP)HIS 9800pro IceQ @ 425/370 (now running nV 7300 256) .:. SB Audigy MP3+

yell0wdart ~
Dell XPS 720 .:. Core 2 Duo 2.13g (@ 2.4) .:. 4g DDR2 677 .:. 2x 160g HDD .:. 7900 GS (@ 558/751)

Heat
YellowDart is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-03, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
hunka27
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
what about overclocking? will i get better results with a lower latency?
hunka27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-03, 03:44 PM   #4
Speed_Mechanic2
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ft. Hood, TX

 
You probably will get better scores running your FSB high while your memory lower at tight (2-2-2) timings, using a 5:4 ratio. Depending on what processor you have, however, it may differ. Which processor do you have, I assume it's a 800FSB Intel P4, but what clock/multiplier.
Speed_Mechanic2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-03, 06:34 PM Thread Starter   #5
hunka27
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
i have a 2.6C. I don't really know what the ratio is. i don't see any type of setting in my bios like that. but anyway, your saying a 2.5 latency would give me better speeds even though its 512MB less then the 3.0 latency? or are you saying that i will be able to overclock more with the 2.5 latency and that will make it faster. Thanks for responding.
hunka27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-03, 02:21 AM Thread Starter   #6
hunka27
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
bump...

i need to get ram soon to complete my computer... more input would really help
hunka27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-03, 02:26 AM   #7
coolgeek
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
get the 2.5 kit because it will do better memory timings then advertised.
coolgeek is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-03, 12:13 PM Thread Starter   #8
hunka27
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
well won't the 3.0 do better also then and run stable at 2.5? is that what your saying. because if i could get a gig of ram and run it at 2.5 i'd definatly do that.
hunka27 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?