Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Just Converted Over To AMD...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-01, 01:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
Blue Jester_2112
Member

 
Blue Jester_2112's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: New Joisey

10 Year Badge
 
Just Converted Over To AMD...


I just got back from a computer show where I picked up a retail 1.2 gig T-bird with 266 fsb. It is an A1200AMS3C AXIA 0114UPAW. As I understand it this means it was made in the 14th week of 2001? Is this a respectable code? How far do you all think I might be able to take this chip on an Epox or Asus ddr board with a Gladiator? (The Gladiator will be lapped and has a Delta black label, not the lower cfm fan)
Also, does the color of the core mean anything or is that mearly cosmetic?
Just curious how good of a purchase I made and how well this chip might perform. Thanks =]

__________________
Intel 3570K@stock
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
8GB PC3 12800 Corsair Vengeance
Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce X3
ASUS GTX 670 DCII
Plextor M5 Pro 128 GB
Cooler Master HAF-XM
OCZ ModXStream 700W PSU



Heatware
Blue Jester_2112 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 02:16 PM   #2
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to the world of AMD!! Yes the color of the core means where it was made. The blue cores are made in Dresden, Germany. The greenish core..?? oh and yes you are right about the 14th week of 2001

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 02:16 PM   #3
Bender
Mysteriously Changing Senior

 
Bender's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens

10 Year Badge
 
Well you got a great code. AXIA is about the best. Some have gotten them up to 1600 but 1400-1500 is more likely. Your heatsink should be a great match for the 1200. The color of the core used to matter but now all athlons are made with copper interconnects.

__________________
Abit IP35-E
Q6600 @ 4GHz or bust
Phase Change Cooling by me
2GB Crucial Ballistix
ATI X1650
Seagate 7200.10 320GB
SilverStone Zeus ST56ZF 560w
Soyo 24" LCD
Bender is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 02:37 PM   #4
CSaddict
Member

 
CSaddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CT, USA

 
Do you currently have an Epox mobo and if so how does it perform? My buddie is putting together a new machine in 2 weeks and he looking at the that mobo.
CSaddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 02:44 PM Thread Starter   #5
Blue Jester_2112
Member

 
Blue Jester_2112's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: New Joisey

10 Year Badge
 
I actually don't have an AMD mobo yet. I'm still doing research but am looking at the Epox too. I'll probably order the Raid version later today.
Just curious, what is the normal defualt voltage for a 1.2?
Thanks guys, it's good to know I made a good purchase.

__________________
Intel 3570K@stock
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
8GB PC3 12800 Corsair Vengeance
Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce X3
ASUS GTX 670 DCII
Plextor M5 Pro 128 GB
Cooler Master HAF-XM
OCZ ModXStream 700W PSU



Heatware
Blue Jester_2112 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 05:35 PM   #6
bdf24
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Harford, WI.

10 Year Badge
 
I'm crossing over as well. My BE6-II died, Then I sold my PIII 800. My Asus A7A 266 & T-Bird 1.2gig should be here on monday. Can't wait. Hope I got a good chip as well.

Good luck to ya, and have fun!
bdf24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-07-01, 06:15 PM   #7
Amedeo602
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
bdf,
good choice on the board! I have an a7a266 and i love it!
just check to make sure you get the 10 dip switch version, not the 4. The 10 switches let you change the multiplier
Amedeo602 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-01, 01:42 PM   #8
plague
Member

 
plague's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ

 
i have basically the same thing (check sig). you should check the 3rd line of code, i have a '9' and could get up to 1439 mhz. people with a 'Y' or another letter can get higher.
plague is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-08-01, 03:41 PM   #9
bdf24
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Harford, WI.

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Amedeo602 (Jul 07, 2001 06:15 p.m.):
bdf,
good choice on the board! I have an a7a266 and i love it!
just check to make sure you get the 10 dip switch version, not the 4. The 10 switches let you change the multiplier
Well I'm hoping it's the newer version with the 10 dip switches. But if it's not I know theres a mod for allowing mulitplier changes in the bios. You have to solder a wire where the 10th dip switch would be. But I think I'll be getting a newer one (I HOPE).
bdf24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 11:06 AM   #10
el
Guest




 
Welcome to the dark side! ;-)

the core color is just some adhesive you don't need to worry all the higher clocked tbirds should have copper interconnects.
  QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 11:41 AM   #11
Subzer0
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: sydney / australia

 
Hey BDF, just wanna tell ya i agree with your signiture,the AX6BC is junk man!good luck with AMD[im another convert]
Subzer0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #12
Blue Jester_2112
Member

 
Blue Jester_2112's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: New Joisey

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
plague (Jul 08, 2001 01:42 p.m.):
i have basically the same thing (check sig). you should check the 3rd line of code, i have a '9' and could get up to 1439 mhz. people with a 'Y' or another letter can get higher.
Mine has a 9 beginning the third line. If it'll go up to 1.4 or 1.4xxghz I'll be perfectly happy. I'm looking for a decent overclock because...well...I'm hooked on clocking, but I'm also looking for solid stability so I probably won't want to push it too far anyway. I ended up getting an Asus A7m266 mobo. I had read that they were among the fastest and most stable mb's on the market. Obviously I won't be able to OC with the multiplier but I just ordered a 256meg stick of Crucial pc2100 so hopefully I'll be able to push the fsb high enough to get me close to, or a little over, 1.4. Being able to adjust the multiplier would have been nice but I reckon I'll get more performance from a higher fsb.
If I REALLY want to see how high it can go I can always give the mod a try and see if I can't get that multiplier adjustment workin'.

__________________
Intel 3570K@stock
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
8GB PC3 12800 Corsair Vengeance
Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce X3
ASUS GTX 670 DCII
Plextor M5 Pro 128 GB
Cooler Master HAF-XM
OCZ ModXStream 700W PSU



Heatware
Blue Jester_2112 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 12:34 PM   #13
guppie
Member

 
guppie's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Miami, FL

10 Year Badge
 
I finally dumped my PIII 600/Asus combo as well. I just received my 1.2 T-Bird today:

A1200AMS3C
AXIAR0121XPMW
K0073621450

I'm assuming this is OK? I'm not going for OC extreme, just stable like someone mentioned b4. However, I am confused... I ordered the IWILL KK266 mobo with 256MB PC133 SDRAM and apparently alot of people are ordering DDR mobos with DDR RAM? Should I have taken the same route? Will it be that much faster? Damn, I hate this!
guppie is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-01, 04:47 AM   #14
bdf24
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Harford, WI.

10 Year Badge
 
Just got my A7A (which does have the 10 dip switches ) and 1.2 gig T-Bird. The T-Bird is an AXIA and the third line starts with a "Y". From what I've been reading there supposed to be great overclockers! Can't wait to get it all setup.
bdf24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-01, 10:56 AM   #15
plague
Member

 
plague's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ

 
Quote:
Blue Jester_2112 (Jul 09, 2001 11:50 a.m.):
Quote:
plague (Jul 08, 2001 01:42 p.m.):
i have basically the same thing (check sig). you should check the 3rd line of code, i have a '9' and could get up to 1439 mhz. people with a 'Y' or another letter can get higher.
Mine has a 9 beginning the third line. If it'll go up to 1.4 or 1.4xxghz I'll be perfectly happy. I'm looking for a decent overclock because...well...I'm hooked on clocking, but I'm also looking for solid stability so I probably won't want to push it too far anyway. I ended up getting an Asus A7m266 mobo. I had read that they were among the fastest and most stable mb's on the market. Obviously I won't be able to OC with the multiplier but I just ordered a 256meg stick of Crucial pc2100 so hopefully I'll be able to push the fsb high enough to get me close to, or a little over, 1.4. Being able to adjust the multiplier would have been nice but I reckon I'll get more performance from a higher fsb.
If I REALLY want to see how high it can go I can always give the mod a try and see if I can't get that multiplier adjustment workin'.
ya I was looking for an A7M266, but they were on the expensive side because they were discontinued. I dont know how its set up, but if it has the same dipswitch setup, you can solder a wire where the no. 10 switch would be. Crucial ram can do 150mhz no problem ive heard, so youll get pretty far w/o multiplier.
plague is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?