• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2 computer "farm"

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BKPBS

well im new to folding and I'm going to build a new main computer and thought it would be cool to build a small dedicated folding box.
Becasue I'm also buying a new main computer the 2 dedicated computers must be very cheap. I was thinking of basically just getting two amd based systems and putting the motherboards on a plywood "rack". I havent checked prices out on anything yet but was thinking of this for the 2 of them

Abit NF7/ any cheaper suggestions?
AMD 1800 or 2500 Barton overclocked(2200mhz?)
Both run off a antec/fortron 550 psu
cheap 3200/3500 ram
Very cheap video cards
run off of overclockix

dont no if everything is there but how does this sound to you guys?
They will have to be run on a 56k modem so im not sure if that will cause any problems with overclockix/ my ISP

Thanks

BKPBS said:
well im new to folding and I'm going to build a new main computer and thought it would be cool to build a small dedicated folding box.
Becasue I'm also buying a new main computer the 2 dedicated computers must be very cheap. I was thinking of basically just getting two amd based systems and putting the motherboards on a plywood "rack". I havent checked prices out on anything yet but was thinking of this for the 2 of them

Abit NF7/ any cheaper suggestions?
AMD 1800 or 2500 Barton overclocked(2200mhz?)
Both run off a antec/fortron 550 psu
cheap 3200/3500 ram
Very cheap video cards
run off of overclockix

dont no if everything is there but how does this sound to you guys?
They will have to be run on a 56k modem so im not sure if that will cause any problems with overclockix/ my ISP

Thanks

hmmm im sure you canf ind cheaper mobo's...

maybe the apox 8rda is cheaper