Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

when i try to install windows xp... it gives me this error..

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-03, 06:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
when i try to install windows xp... it gives me this error..


i just built a new computer for a friend and whenever i try to install windows now it gives me this strange error.
after i copy the files from cd to hard drive and restart as it says it says:

Error Loading Operating system

so i cant get the windows installation to commence.. anyone kno whats goin on here?

tnx
max

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 06:52 PM   #2
Fast420A
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, FL

 
Got any specs on the rig? HDD type and size?

__________________
My Heatware
Fast420A is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:02 PM   #3
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Check out this article from the mskb. It describes your exact problem. Should help you in figuring out what to do. Good luck!

Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
ok
its an xp 2100 tbred b
nf7-s motherboard
80 gig WD hdd
2x256 ram
i loosened the ram timings to make sure thats not the problem..

im gonna read that article tnx

the thing is the bios sees the HDD just fine.
so why could that be a problem (as according the the bios)

im running memtest86 atm so ill see if any memory errors

max

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:13 PM   #5
Fast420A
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, FL

 
Did the WD drive come with a disk that you have to use initially with XP? I think my 40 Gig had something like that.

__________________
My Heatware
Fast420A is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:16 PM   #6
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
In reading the article and what you said I think your hard drive probably is not the problem. It may have to do with the BIOS though. Make sure you are not overclocked at all. That can stop setup from working. Also, take out all non-essential devices, many times that helps set up finish without problems. Take out any sound cards, network cards and anything else you don't need to install windows. Good Luck!

Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:17 PM   #7
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Fast420A
Did the WD drive come with a disk that you have to use initially with XP? I think my 40 Gig had something like that.
Really? I own a bunch of WD hard drives, all oem, not retail packages and not once installed any kind of cd before installing windows or using the drive. Heh, I thought the disks were just for troubleshooting. You learn something new everyday I guess.

Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:20 PM   #8
Fast420A
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, FL

 

__________________
My Heatware
Fast420A is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 07:58 PM Thread Starter   #9
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
hmm.. originally the WD was retail yeah..
but i have an 80 gig western digital as well and i didnt havta do anything with the floppy..

also is there any way to turn of SATA RAID cause whenever u boot up it chills in the boot up process for like 4 seconds looking for SATA RAID drives.. anyone here got an nf7s and did smth about this?

tnx

max

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 08:23 PM   #10
Ducker
Member

 
Ducker's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Dark Side of the Moon

 
Quote:
also is there any way to turn of SATA RAID cause whenever u boot up it chills in the boot up process for like 4 seconds looking for SATA RAID drives.. anyone here got an nf7s and did smth about this?
Yeah, mine does that also, I don't think there's anything you can do about it thou. It's just part of the boot up process.

__________________
FOLD!!!
Ducker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-03, 10:00 PM Thread Starter   #11
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
ok got it to work.. i used the windows 98 boot disk to fdisk in dos and reformatted thru that.. now it worked.. wierd.

max

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?