Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Annoying Problem with PSU

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-03, 10:23 AM Thread Starter   #1
mata2974
Member

 
mata2974's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
Annoying Problem with PSU


I have a 3 mth old Antec 550W TP which whenever I switch it off at the back switch and switch it on again it sends a spike or "whatever" to the fans and the EPOX code display panel. All the fans will spin for a sec and go off, and the display will light up for a millisecond and go off too. Now this is what I have done so far. I have removed all connections (Power on, Reset switch etc), fans , VC, memory, everything and took the MB from case and laid it on a plastic lid. Then connected the PSU, and it still spikes. The MB is brand new. If I replace the PSU with an Iwin 300W PSU, no spinning of fans and spikes, works fine. The TP works alright, just that annoying problem and I am wondering if this will lead to problems later. Weird!!!!!!!!!,
mata2974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-03, 10:59 AM   #2
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
You may have some kind of defect in the PSU. However, you normally don't turn the computer on and off with the PSU switch, do you? Have you tried booting up with this PSU using minimum configuration (cpu, ram, video)? Does it work? Are there any spikes using software on/off? If yes, RMA the PSU, if no, you can choose to use it or not.

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-03, 11:22 AM Thread Starter   #3
mata2974
Member

 
mata2974's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
may be I was not clear. There is no spikes during reboots or normal windows shutdown and reboot, no matter how long. I notice this only when I want to reset cmos or work inside the computer where I temporarily need no live power through the mobo. I switch the PSU switch off. Thus, when I switch that black switch at the back to ON, before I hit the main power switch thats when it spikes. I DO NOT USE THIS SWITCH TO TURN THE COMPUTER ON AND OFF
mata2974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-03, 03:00 AM   #4
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I have a 300W Antec SmartPower that does the same thing. I was told that it may be related to the "kick start" circuit that helps the high voltage side start up and feed power to the low voltage side before the low voltage side can send it feedback. On my Antec the controller chip is on the low voltage side.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-03, 08:31 AM   #5
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Check the "state after power failure" setting in BIOS - if I leave mine set to auto rather than off it does the same thing. I've noticed that behavior in other boards as well.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-03, 09:53 AM   #6
Ravsitar
Member

 
Ravsitar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minnetonka, MN

 
My soon to be replaced dell does the same thing after I unplug it. I've always assumed it was just the mobo dipping into the PS a little to handle WOL and all the stuff like that. I've had this computer for 5+ years and unplugged it over a hundred times with no ill effects.
Ravsitar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-03, 04:16 AM   #7
asw7576
Member

 
asw7576's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Jakarta

 
Mine is different story....... after I turn off the computer from window's shutdown or press turn off button on the casing..... the computer will shutdown BUT with problems: the HDD LED, LAN LED, Power On LED and fans are ON and OFF repeteadly all night long It seems the standby voltage is interupted.

Please help me.... its HEC 475 power supply true power. Just two weeks old.
asw7576 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?