Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Preparing to purchase Mushkin: any reasons to go 1gb?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-03, 09:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
Amair_sc
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

 
Preparing to purchase Mushkin: any reasons to go 1gb?


Hi guys !

I am about to purchase some Black lvl II from Mushkin and was wondering if there were any significant advantages of going 2*512 over 2*256? I will be playing games mostly. I know it is easier to overclock 2*256 because it requires less voltage but I would be prepared to mod the vdimm on my board if there is a good performance increase in going with the 512 mb sticks. I will be oc'ing a new 2500+ while I wait for 939 and Prescott to show up (I want something that will be good now and possibly usable in the future).

Also, I have been reading many good things about the OCZ pc3500 platinum limited edition (things about mad timings and nice overclocks); as anyone had some experience with these sticks and Mushkin's?

please share your thoughts with me !

Cheers!

Last edited by Amair_sc; 11-03-03 at 10:22 PM.
Amair_sc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-03, 10:28 PM   #2
BigSmokey
Member

 
BigSmokey's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bloomington IL

 
You said you want something that will be goo dpossibly in the future...thats a good reason to go 1 gig. I just got my 1 gig of 3500 Mushkin, but Im waiting on the MB and CPU among other things before I can use it.
BigSmokey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-03, 10:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
Amair_sc
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Gatineau, Quebec

 
I understand what you mean and tha 1 gb does look really nice but I will not purchase it if it does not bring a good performance boost. I preffer saving 150US$ now and upgrading with faster mem in 3-4 months if I am not going to get a significant boost from an extra 512 megs of lvl II.

Cheers !
Amair_sc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-03, 10:36 PM   #4
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
heres a 2 letter reason for a gig of ram

XP
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-03, 01:32 AM   #5
Top Hat Theater
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lost in Thought

 
You said you play a lot of games. Having a gig of RAM vs. 512MB will decrease level load times so it'd be beneficial. Also, you could turn off the pagefile and have the OS cache more to RAM which might yield some performance improvements.

~THT
Top Hat Theater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-03, 09:40 AM   #6
Ravsitar
Member

 
Ravsitar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minnetonka, MN

 
For all practical purposes you can NEVER have too much ram. NEVER. You'll find that you'll end up using it eventually with a newer game, photo editing or video editing.
Ravsitar is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?