• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Heatsinkguy

Disabled
Hi i need some help with raiding or sata
i have ASUS Motherboard for Intel Pentium 4 / Celeron Processors, 800Mhz FSB Model# P4P800 Deluxe Retail
more specs at http://secure.newegg.com/app/specification.asp?item=13-131-450
Iam total newbie to raid and sata
Now i have 2 80 gig western digital 8mb hd. Can i put both Sata and Raid on them?If so how?
What does Raid 0, and Raid 1 mean and whats the differences between them? Does my motherboard have raid 1 and 0?
How many hd can connect using sata and raid?

Does it have to be the same type of and size of hardrive to raid or sata?
thx dave

well, i've never done raid myself, but this is what i know

SATA is just the way data is transferred, so instead of ATA its Serial ATA. So instead of having those 40pin cables, you have a smaller cable which transfers serial data.

raid works best if you have hard drives that are similar. If you happen to have two hard drives which are 40gb and 80gb, then if you run raid, you'll end up only having 80 total with both. when setting up raid, every harddrive can only use the capacity the smallest one has.

raid 0 is called striping, all it does is just split the data across evenly upon the two hard drives, allowing it to be accessed faster and have faster speeds. but if one hard drive fails, you lose all your infomation.

here's a good thread on it: http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=241869

but if all you need is raid 0 and 1:

shiyan said:
in raid 1 (mirroring), if you use 2 disks of equal size, say 120GB each, you'll only see 120GB of available space under windows. This is half of the total capacity of the 2 drives.