• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Freeware XWindows program w/ SSH? (for Windows)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OSUmaxx

I'm looking for a freeware XWindows program that will allow me to use the SSH connection to my school's servers and run XWindows based programs, such as design architect, matlab, etc.

I have an SSH program, but all of the XWindows programs I can find only let you use them for an hour or so before they shut down, which obviously is a very bad thing for me.

Any suggestions?

David said:
Perhaps try VNC over SSH?

Hmm... I never thought to try that. Does my school network have to support that? I've never used VNC before, but I'll check it out, thanks :)

I'm not sure exactly how you do it, but you basically tunnel the VNC data through a secure SSL connection. There are bound to be loads of FAQs about.

Thanks for the link Kendan, that helps a lot.

On that page:
And enter Source port, final destination IP and port you have listening on VNC server on remote end.

Is there a way I can find this info? Usually I connect via SSH using blah.blah.orst.edu and I'm in. I don't have any sort of IP to work with.

Unless your school has the VNC server running on their linux/unix box, you're not going to be able to get that to work. You could try running VNC without SSH to the domain address, and if it has a server running, it should respond with you needing to give it the password. The connection won't be

As for PuTTY, tou could try typing in 127.0.0.1 and hope that the server is the first computer the SSH tunnel hits...
JigPu