Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Recommend Socket 423 mobo

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-03, 12:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
Smile Recommend Socket 423 mobo


I'm upgrading: http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=246916

But all you need to do is recommend a nice Socket 423 motherboard to me, it has to be fairly decent and allow me to overclock, I currently have a P4x266 by Via and Ican't even overclock 1mhz of my FSB..

AGP 4X
northbridge heatsink
overclocking ability
Vcore changes

all required ^

Thanks.
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 11-18-03, 12:25 PM   #2
Ralf Hutter
Member

 
Ralf Hutter's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia

 
You'll need to look on ebay or someplace like CompGeeks to find a S423 board.

Most S423 Willamettes won't even OC well (maybe 10% if you're lucky) anyway, it's basically a lost cause. There's not much reason to throw money into something like that. The Willamettes are pretty crappy CPU's even if they're OCed.
Ralf Hutter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-03, 12:30 PM Thread Starter   #3
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
yeah, I know all of that..

I want someone to tell me what motherboard they know is a good one for it though, and I already have the processor and know it well..

I'm very happy with my 1.5ghz, it beats every other computer in the house..and we have a $1,000 P4 478 1.8ghz with more RAM and all..

Edit: It has to have DDR266 support, no PC133 or Rambus.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers

Last edited by Foxie3a; 11-18-03 at 12:38 PM.
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-03, 07:00 PM   #4
deadkenny
Member

 
deadkenny's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto

 
If the 1.8GHz socket 478 P4 is on a m/b with SDRAM, that might explain why the performance is worse. In any case I'm not sure why you'd want to spend any money for a socket 423 m/b, just to try to OC a Willamette P4 a little bit (which is about all you can expect out of it). The best m/b by far for OC'ing a socket 423 would be based on the 850 chipset, i.e. RDRAM. AFAIK socket 423 and DDR support is going to land you back with the same Via chipset you've already got.
deadkenny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-03, 07:15 PM   #5
mateo
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Abit TH-7. I was stuck with a 1.5 willy too as my main rig for a long time, and ran quite a while on one. Perhaps I loved it because it was my first intro to Abit, but the board is about as nice as you can get for S423 anyway.
mateo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-03, 07:23 PM   #6
{PMS}fishy
Senior A64 Killer

 
{PMS}fishy's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Boston, MA

10 Year Badge
 
Won't any socket 478 board run 423 processors?

__________________
Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

Trouble Shooting 101:
1. RTFM
2. Repeat Step 1

6ghz Club Member.


cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?
{PMS}fishy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-03, 07:25 PM Thread Starter   #7
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
yes, with an adaptor..

I have given up, I will just get better cooling for a while..until I get my 2.4c

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?