Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Is this right?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-01, 07:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
BobbyEwing
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Is this right?


First of all, hello to you all!

I have a question, or more a concern. My 1,2 Ghz DDR T-bird (AXIA) is currently running along very stable at 1,33Ghz (10*133) with 1,8 Vcore. At this speed I get an idle temp of about 40 C, and load temp of about 50 C. This seems a bit high to me. I am using a Globalwin WBK 68 cooler. Also, my case temp is at about 36 C even though I'm running the case wide open in a room that is about 24 C. My problem is that I can't squeeze an ounce more power out of this rig. If I step up the multiplier to 10,5 it refuses to post, and if I up the FSB even the slightest bit, windows become unstable or won't load.

My system:
1,2 Ghz AXIA T-bird, factory unlocked with Globalwin WBK 68 sink
MSI K7T 266 Pro R
256 Mb cas 2,5 2100 DDR RAM
Western digital caviar 7200 rpm 40 Gb
NoName nVidia GeForce 2 MX-400, 64 Mb

Anyone have any suggestions. This chip SHOULD give me a bit more than this I think, but the temps are running high way to fast.
BobbyEwing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-01, 08:40 PM   #2
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
The case temp seems way high, most of us have temps for our case at about 23-26c. Mine right now is at 21-23c with case closed (I am not a fan of an open case cause my critters running around). What temp monitoring are you using? What is the extent of your cooling?

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-01, 08:46 PM   #3
Jon
Just Another Retired Moderator

 
Jon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA

10 Year Badge
 
Haha, that's a microwave.

What kind of case cooling do you have. 36C is nuts for a case temp. My P3 1GHz @ 1.13 doesn't run that hot under full load.

Something's definately not right, I'll agree.

50C isn't terribly hot for that thing, I don't think either. My Glaciator only keeps my 1.4 @ 1.6 down to 52C under full load at default voltage. Of course, I wish it were running cooler but I don't really consider it a danger zone unless it's constantly above 55C.

__________________
theHTPC.net
Jon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-03-01, 10:42 PM   #4
eobard
Give me a break Senior



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Read Hoot's article on cooling entitled "Good Air / Bad Air, Good Fans / Bad Fans... bla bla bla, yadda yadda yadda (Jeeze Hoot it's a great article but did you have to give it such a long name???)" its in the Reviews and Tips section under the "Case Cooling" heading. Its a rock solid article with a serious way to beat down extra heat.

BTW, welcome!

__________________
Thank you Baby. I love you.
eobard is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-01, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #5
BobbyEwing
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Well the cooling at this moment is limited to the case beeing wide open (both side doors off), and 2 80mm fans blowing directly at the CPU and graphics card. The temps where measured with the boards monitor, so I am aware that it may be a bit off.
BobbyEwing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-01, 01:24 PM   #6
Cowtown
Member

 
Cowtown's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Calgary, AB

 
First thing I would recommend is get some exhaust fans in action, you are probably experiencing some build up of hot air by your CPU when it starts to get under load.

That will probably make the biggest difference.

Shawn
Cowtown is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?