Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

DDR Going in Backwards??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-03, 11:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Question DDR Going in Backwards??


Oks this isn't the first time this ram did this. Back about a year ago when I originally bought my P4 system I bought 2 256mb sticks of OCZ PC2700 ram. Well when I put the system togeather by chance one stick fit in backwards. Of course when the system booted well sparks, the smell of burning electronics and the puff of smoke came. Of course the PC was shutdown ASAP and realized it was in backwards.

After that incident it worked perfecty like nothing happened. Now looking at today I've sold the ram to someone else and he by chance was able to stick that exact same stick of ram in backwards and did the same thing. Not 100% sure if he stuck it back in the system but I wouldn't be suprised if it still works.

Now just wondering how many have acutally done this on accident or seen this happen before? This took place on a IT7-Max and a IT7-Max2 v1 boards.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 12:10 PM   #2
SeanOMatic
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
It is pretty hard to stick the ram in backwards and have the clips seat down into the module. DDR is keyed to only fit one way.
SeanOMatic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 12:37 PM   #3
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
There is pictures of this online. Somebody tried to RMA a motherboard and RAM because they stuck in the RAM backwards. Of couse the RMA people figured out what happened and they posted pictures of what it specifically looked like.

http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis...t-M7VIG1_1.htm
http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis...rnt-M7VIG2.htm
http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis...rnt-M7VIG3.htm
http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis...rnt-M7VIG4.htm
http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis.../burntram1.htm
http://www.webhelp.org/jonnyguru/mis.../burntram2.htm

I'm not that great at visually identifing memory though, so I dunno if those sticks were DDR (somehow, I doubt it). However, sticking memory in backwards is known to happen and it generally fries both RAM and motherboard. Quite lucky you are indeed. What motherboard and RAM was used?

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 01:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Oks well the first incident was on my IT7-Max. Ram ran fine afterwards and also the mobo functioned without faults.

The second incident just happened to my friend that I sold the ram to. He was messing around with OCing and happened to him. Board still functions and ram is a question right now. His board is a IT7-Max2 v1.

What ever it was this one stick is really strange.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 01:40 PM   #5
SeanOMatic
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
I didn't say it won't go in backwards.

I said it is pretty hard to put DDR in backwards and have it clip down. I know it will go in backwards, as I have seen plenty of RMA'd memory with burn marks on the contacts.

-Sean
SeanOMatic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 02:15 PM   #6
SeanOMatic
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
That is why you need to absolutely be careful, as failsafe installation mechanisms often fail to be safe.
SeanOMatic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 03:39 PM   #7
felinusz
Senior Overclocking Magus

 
felinusz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Taiwan

 
Wow, how weird. I though that DDR had diferent numbers of pins on each side of the "divider" nocket in the middle of the RAM, hence making it impossible to put in backwards... probably a fault of that motherboard that you can slot it in backwards by the sounds of it

Cool thogh - I am surprised that it still lives!

felinusz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 09:21 PM   #8
jhl3
Member

 
jhl3's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SC

 
How big was the Hammer?

__________________
Crunching as "tracker1"
jhl3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-26-03, 09:36 PM   #9
Tipycol
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002

 
DDR? I did this with the family comp and pc133 ram (and when the internet comp was mine ). Course, the comp wouldn't boot up. Peered around till I spotted the problem (that's what I get for rushing). Thought I broke either the ram pcb or the dimm (one of the clips was about 1/4 inch higher than it should have been ). Course it all worked fine when I put the ram back in correctly and pushed (with some force) on that clip.

Tipycol

__________________
Heatware
The Gamer: i7 860 | MSI P55-GD65 | PC HD 4870 1GB | 2x2GB STT | SB X-Fi Platinum | Sharp 32" 32GP3U
The Multitasker: i7 920 | P6T6 WS | eVGA GT240 1GB | 3x2GB STT | ARC-1231ML ~ 6xSamsung 1.5TB
Others: Athlon II X4 630 | E5300 | E5200 | Athlon X2 3800+ | Sempron 3100+
Tipycol is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-03, 01:43 PM   #10
hawtrawkr
Member

 
hawtrawkr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: galesburg illinois

 
Quote:
Originally posted by jhl3
How big was the Hammer?
lol
hawtrawkr is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?