Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Bridging, no ip address

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-03, 11:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
Kinerry
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa

 
Bridging, no ip address


From a wireless connection to a ethernet connection

The wireless is the internet connection, and it keeps defaulting to the ethernet when looking for a connection and won't use teh wireless to connect

Any guesses on how to fix this?
Kinerry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-03, 01:07 AM   #2
FarEast
Most Generous Member

 
FarEast's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: J@pan

 
Sorry you might want to word your problem a bit better,

I read it as this

PC 1 is connected to the internet vai a wireless connection and it keeps defaulting back to a Cable connection?
FarEast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-03, 02:36 AM Thread Starter   #3
Kinerry
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa

 
no, to the ethernet connection
using windows xp bridging
Kinerry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-03, 03:43 AM   #4
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
What does "defaulting to ethernet" mean?
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-03, 09:05 AM   #5
FarEast
Most Generous Member

 
FarEast's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: J@pan

 
you should need to bridge the connection
FarEast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-03, 11:04 PM   #6
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
definitely reword a bit and explain more in detail what you are planning on doing...

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-03, 01:57 AM   #7
CrazyP
Member

 
CrazyP's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
he is trying to bridge the WiFi and ethernet together, but he wants it to only enable the ethernet protion when he connects some cat 5 cable. I have this same problem. Instead of using the WiFi when the cat 5 is disconnecyed, the laptp keeps trying to connect over Lan. Its really anoying, I just unbridge it and disable the ethernet until I need it
CrazyP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-03, 04:45 AM   #8
FarEast
Most Generous Member

 
FarEast's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: J@pan

 
Sorry you shouldn't need to bridge the connection though!
FarEast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-03, 08:37 PM   #9
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
I don't get the problem. "Trying to connect over the lan"?

Shouldn't the thing just work? Thats how it is on real operating systems. Maybe you should use on of those for your bridge.

If you don't want one used for a net connection... it shouldn't try to if there is no gateway defined.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?