• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

9600 pro newbie help!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blueskies

Registered
Hi Im a newbie here. I see lots of people having problems with the 9600pro.. unfortunately I bought one (before visiting the forums) and have problems now
Im not a junkie or pro therefore i'd appreciate some help.
Im running

CPU : Pentium IV 2.6C HT
Mobo : ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
Graphics : 9600 pro
RAM : 256 x 2 DDR PC400
(nothing overclocked)

Now, when I play games (I tried IGI2) on certain areas in the game, there seems to be some slowdown in the graphics. Mouse movement preceeds what happens on screen for a fraction of seconds and sometimes it gets pretty hard to aim. Tried Age of Mythology and the same thing happens albeit smoother than on IGI2. What could be the problem here? Is it the AGP card or the Mobo? or something else? Appreciate if someone can guide me thru this...

TIA
Rgds

hi I'm not sure what kinda problems you've been seeing around here but, did u have any previous cards inside the computer, if yyou did, kill then drivers using Driver cleaner.

I used a 9600pro for a while and it seemed to handle games like bf1942 and the like pretty well but mine was overclocked to the limit. I would check in your BIOS and make sure the AGP rate is set to either auto or 8X. The 4X could be limiting your card some.

If that doesn't help overclock it (rather do this anyway)! The 9600 cards overclock really well and you will see a definite jump in benchmarks and gameplay imo.

You have a nice setup there and should be able to overclock the whole system really well after you read around the forums for a while. That should also help your gameplay some plus give you some bragging rights. :D

thanks for the advice