Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

fan on heatsink....wrong way?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 12-02-03, 11:14 AM Thread Starter   #1
bigsoomo

fan on heatsink....wrong way?

hey guys i was on another modding website where they do reviews about the new alx-800 and the panaflo fan was on backwards wouldnt that be suckin air away from the heatsink?
Attached Images

bigsoomo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-03, 11:15 AM   #2
unix and linux
Banned

Looks like its sucking air from the heatsink..weird
unix and linux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-03, 11:36 AM   #3
stamasd

I have had great experiences with fans mounted the "wrong" way. I got a several degree improvement in my temps with a Thermaltake Volcano 6 Cu+ with a fan sucking air out.

Old 12-02-03, 12:06 PM   #4
stan03

yea its on "backwards" but i know some review places try both ways to see which one gives better temps.
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-03, 12:21 PM Thread Starter   #5
bigsoomo

whoaa i never knew that...

Quote:
I have had great experiences with fans mounted the "wrong" way. I got a several degree improvement in my temps with a Thermaltake Volcano 6 Cu+ with a fan sucking air out.
bigsoomo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-03, 12:44 PM   #6
GlitchOfDoom

Quote:
Originally posted by stamasd
There must be other factors involved, such as a heat source near the top of the fan would blow warm air on the heatsink, but if it was sucking it would be pulling cool air from the sides. But if you moved that heatsource and had the fan running the proper way it would prove to be much better than the original setup.
GlitchOfDoom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-03, 12:49 PM   #7
stamasd

Quote:
Originally posted by GlitchOfDoom