• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Heatsink for socket 478 - what to buy?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cornetet

Registered
I'm a NEWBIE... and have a very basic question:

I'm buying an Intel P4 3.0C GHz Processor (Socket 478) .... what custom heatsink fan Manufacturer's should I look at?!?!

Is there a buying guide -or- reviews on which heatsink fans to buy for socket 478's? If so, please direct me to it... thx!

cornetet said:
I'm a NEWBIE... and have a very basic question:

I'm buying an Intel P4 3.0C GHz Processor (Socket 478) .... what custom heatsink fan Manufacturer's should I look at?!?!

Is there a buying guide -or- reviews on which heatsink fans to buy for socket 478's? If so, please direct me to it... thx!

I'd go with a Thermalright SP-94 and a Panoflo 120 or Vantec Tornado 92 using a variable speed control. Despite what you go with here, making sure you use a good thermal grease between the cpu and the heatsink, making sure you apply it properly is essential.

Top Review on Thermalright SP94

Thermalright SP-94 Detailed Look

Last edited:
Thermalright SP-94 definatly, BUT if you're not going to overclock that cpu you might aswell stay with stock hsf.

yea the best intel heatsink right now is the SP94 although i would use a 92mm fan not a 120 mm fan on it.

How does one attach a 120mm fan to a SP-94? I'm running a 92mm fan and as far as I know, it's the largest fan that you can use for it.

There was a similar discussion on this a while ago. Someone said you could use a 120 to 92 mm fan adaptor.

coughman said:
There was a similar discussion on this a while ago. Someone said you could use a 120 to 92 mm fan adaptor.

The Thermalright SP94 comes with the latches you need to hook up an 80mm and 92mm Fans.