Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Flat Screw Driver vs TI4400 Oh %^%$

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-03, 08:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
Capt Fiero
Member

 
Capt Fiero's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada (near Vancouver)

 
Flat Screw Driver vs TI4400 Oh %^%$


Well it was more than O-$hit that came out of my mouth when I did it. I gouged at least 5 traces on the board. I put the card inot a machine and tested it, I got funny colours and all sorts of things. It loaded into windows but there are definatly problems. Is there anything I can do to try and fix it or is it just plain toast. I have been told that if you run a pencil eraser along the trace in one direction gently some times you can repair a crossed trace depending on the depth of the damage.

If you want to know why I had a screw driver at the back of my video card, I was trying to pop the little plastic pins though the holes that hold the heat sink on so I could put some ASIII compound on it.

If you hear of a good deal on a TI42-4600 card drop me a line. I should proably wait till after X-Mas when everyone has upped there cards and I am sure the markey is going to be flooded with the old Ti seris cards.

__________________
[COLOR="White"][SIZE=1]
My System
CPU E8400 @ 3.84ghz
Motherboard Biostar T45HP
Ram 4GB Corsair (4x 1GB)
Nvidia 8800GT OC2 Video Card.
Logitech Revolution Laser Mouse
3.5 Terabytes of Storage
Antec TruePower 750 Watt PSU
XIGMATEK HDT S1283 Cooler
Capt Fiero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-03, 08:45 PM   #2
ajrettke
Member

 
ajrettke's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dayton. OH

10 Year Badge
 
If using the eraser doesn't work use the other end and actualy trace the connections. Graphite is very conductive and if you only messed up the top layer you can pencil over the breaks in the circuit and it should be good to go. Best of luck!!!!
And if it doesn't work then wait till after christmas like you said, that's what I have to do as well

__________________
i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
MSI Z77A-G41
R9 280X
2x4gb PC16000
256GB Samsung 840
Sennheiser HDR-120's
Dell U2713HM
"Computer games don’t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989
ajrettke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-03, 02:33 PM   #3
Grande Juan
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: INDY

 
You can also pickup a rear window defogger repair kit, at your local autoparts store. It works very well for repairing traces.
Grande Juan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-03, 02:42 PM   #4
Cyrix_2k
Member

 
Cyrix_2k's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)

 
Or you could get a trace repair pen.

__________________

ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

2500k @ 4.9ghz
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

vCore
1.287 |Idle: 33°c | Full load: 68°c
16gb Corsair XMS 3
| Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
F O L D For Team 32!!

Black belt Ubercloxx0r

Audio Technica ATH-A900's
"yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
SANS GSEC Certified
Cyrix_2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-11-03, 11:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
Capt Fiero
Member

 
Capt Fiero's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada (near Vancouver)

 
I took a much closer look at the card tonight and I really dont think it is repairable. I will probably just toss it into the pile of broken or outdated computer stuff that I am going to toss on ebay. Before anyone says anything. I ALWAYS list damaged stuff as damaged and put as much info on it as I can. I figure it is probably worth 15$ for parts, and if I toss in a few other decent working video cards, maybe a few slot one processors and other misc stuff, I might make enough cash to buy a 9600pro card without spending any out of pocket money.

__________________
[COLOR="White"][SIZE=1]
My System
CPU E8400 @ 3.84ghz
Motherboard Biostar T45HP
Ram 4GB Corsair (4x 1GB)
Nvidia 8800GT OC2 Video Card.
Logitech Revolution Laser Mouse
3.5 Terabytes of Storage
Antec TruePower 750 Watt PSU
XIGMATEK HDT S1283 Cooler
Capt Fiero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-03, 12:06 AM   #6
Mike360000
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Stokesdale, North Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Capt Fiero
I took a much closer look at the card tonight and I really dont think it is repairable. I will probably just toss it into the pile of broken or outdated computer stuff that I am going to toss on ebay. Before anyone says anything. I ALWAYS list damaged stuff as damaged and put as much info on it as I can. I figure it is probably worth 15$ for parts, and if I toss in a few other decent working video cards, maybe a few slot one processors and other misc stuff, I might make enough cash to buy a 9600pro card without spending any out of pocket money.
Hey Capt,
You mess up my PNY Ti 4400?
That was one heck of a video card!
Shame on you!

Cheers,
Mike
Mike360000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-03, 08:54 AM Thread Starter   #7
Capt Fiero
Member

 
Capt Fiero's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada (near Vancouver)

 
I loved the card, it was awesome, I got 70-90fps in UT2K3 I am so PO at my self over it, but hey $hit happens I screwed up.

So I am going to have to buy a new card. Kinda sucks but Oh well life is life.

__________________
[COLOR="White"][SIZE=1]
My System
CPU E8400 @ 3.84ghz
Motherboard Biostar T45HP
Ram 4GB Corsair (4x 1GB)
Nvidia 8800GT OC2 Video Card.
Logitech Revolution Laser Mouse
3.5 Terabytes of Storage
Antec TruePower 750 Watt PSU
XIGMATEK HDT S1283 Cooler
Capt Fiero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-03, 01:08 PM   #8
Noodles
Member

 
Noodles's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont, USA

 
Heh. I've been there. I was taking a heatsink off my kt7a motherboard one time and the screwdriver slipped out and stabbed the board. Thank god it didn't do any real damage. I was sure I was screwed.
Noodles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-13-03, 10:12 AM   #9
Mike360000
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Stokesdale, North Carolina

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Capt Fiero
I loved the card, it was awesome, I got 70-90fps in UT2K3 I am so PO at my self over it, but hey $hit happens I screwed up.

So I am going to have to buy a new card. Kinda sucks but Oh well life is life.
snif snif

I can't believe my v card is no more............
Dang, it was so good to me...........
I don't think any cooling mods would have really helped it though.
It was oc'ing too good as it was. Anyhow...

Don't guess you wanna sell me back that adapter?
It actually came from my 5900.

Cheers,
Mike

Last edited by Mike360000; 12-22-03 at 04:10 PM.
Mike360000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-03, 01:11 AM Thread Starter   #10
Capt Fiero
Member

 
Capt Fiero's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada (near Vancouver)

 
Well I have a friend that wants to see if he can fix it for me. So I might be in luck. I will still probably go out and buy a new card after christmas though.

Does anyone have any recomendations on a Card that is Equall to the Ti4400 card. I dont understand all these FX cards and ATI with all there Pro this and that. Which ATI card would I want to look into. For me the Ti4400 was more than fast enough. I was looking at an ATI card for 200$ CDN about 150$ USD that the computer guy said was DX9 complient. I dont know what card it was but it was a 9xxx something.

__________________
[COLOR="White"][SIZE=1]
My System
CPU E8400 @ 3.84ghz
Motherboard Biostar T45HP
Ram 4GB Corsair (4x 1GB)
Nvidia 8800GT OC2 Video Card.
Logitech Revolution Laser Mouse
3.5 Terabytes of Storage
Antec TruePower 750 Watt PSU
XIGMATEK HDT S1283 Cooler
Capt Fiero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-03, 12:17 PM   #11
Jimbob7

 
Jimbob7's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London, England

 
what clock speeds did u have on the TI4400 ??

__________________
PentiumM 725 "Dothan" 1.60GHz @ 2.60GHz, P4C800D, 3850Pro AGP, 3GB OCZ Platinum XTC, Arch Linux
TDX, Maze4, 120.3, D5, U2-UFO
Dell E248WFP

Core2Duo 3GHz, Asus Motherboard, 4GB, Ubuntu-Server
Dual Pentium III 600MHz, 512MB, Asus P2B-DS, OpenBSD

HP ProBook 6450b, Intel i5 2.60GHz, 4GB, Windows 7
Jimbob7 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-03, 12:26 PM   #12
harryinny3
Member

 
harryinny3's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York

 
Capt.


The 9600XT is on sale everywhere.

But i would have to point you to this card. Gainward Ultra 1100, As far as i see its an u5900. Its price is great.

http://www.gameve.com/gve/store/Prod...u=VC-GAIN-0019

Cant believe i Just told him to get a NV card. I think this fever is killin me. LOL.

BTW you might want to try tweezers or needle nose pliers next time. They work great.Press the tabs and push em out.

Harry
harryinny3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-03, 05:12 PM   #13
sQUiRLy
Member

 
sQUiRLy's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, KY

10 Year Badge
 
Capt Fiero, NewEgg has the 850MHz memory Gainward 5900 for just 25 more dollars. The 9700pro is in that price range as well.

You might get the same DirectX 8.1 performance that you had with your 4400 with the 9600xt but the DirectX 9 performance of the 9600 series is a bit lacking. I have to play NFSunderground at 800x600 with my 9600pro to keep things smooth.

__________________
Phenom II X4 925 C3 [] Adata XPG v2 1600 2x4GB [] Asus M5A97 [] Zalman Performa
Antec Neo HE 550 [] Toshiba Q series Pro 128GB [] WD Black 1TB [] Galaxy GTX 460 1GB [] 7 Home Premium 64bit [] Eizo S2233WH 1680x1050

Last edited by sQUiRLy; 12-20-03 at 05:21 PM.
sQUiRLy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-03, 01:22 PM   #14
Freelancer071
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Europe

 
A screwdriver once met an Asus TUSL2-C The thing still works, but I've noticed that it takes the PC about 10 seconds to completely turn on if it has been turned off for an extended period of time (sth like 48 hours). Since it's always on it's not really a problem . Good thing u mentioned trace repair kits, I think I'll get one of those. Too bad about your Ti4400 though Best of luck to you with your Ti4400 rescue mission... or with the Ti4600 acquisition mission in case you've killed the 4400
Freelancer071 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-03, 03:37 PM   #15
Kenshiro
Member

 
Kenshiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003

 
I'm not too sure about this. Can a little soldering help fix that?

__________________
Sager NP9170
17.3” Full HD (1920x1080) Matte LED-Backlit Display
AMD Radeon HD 680M 256bit w/4GB GDDR5
Intel® Core™ i7-3720QM (2.6~3.6GHz) w/6M L3 Cache - 4 Cores - 8 Threads
16GB (4x4GB) DDR3/1600 Dual Channel Memory
Crucial 128GB SSD (M4) SATA III Solid-State Drive 500GB SATA II 3GB/s 7,200 RPM Hard Drive
Kenshiro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-03, 03:38 PM   #16
Kenshiro
Member

 
Kenshiro's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003

 
If you do have to get a new card, get the ATI 9600 XT. Don't get the 5900 non ultra even though they are the same price. I did see how the 9600SE perform with Halo, and I am very very impress. Get an ATI and I am very sure that you will be happy with its performance with directx 9 games.

__________________
Sager NP9170
17.3” Full HD (1920x1080) Matte LED-Backlit Display
AMD Radeon HD 680M 256bit w/4GB GDDR5
Intel® Core™ i7-3720QM (2.6~3.6GHz) w/6M L3 Cache - 4 Cores - 8 Threads
16GB (4x4GB) DDR3/1600 Dual Channel Memory
Crucial 128GB SSD (M4) SATA III Solid-State Drive 500GB SATA II 3GB/s 7,200 RPM Hard Drive
Kenshiro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-25-03, 06:16 AM   #17
matrixzen
Member

 
matrixzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA

 
I jabbed two boards in my computer lifetime experience. I was more unskilled back then in the day and it still worked. Now if I want to remove the little plastic pins for the video card or northbridge I don't bother risking I just take wirecutters and cut off the plasic piece and get new inserts. I figure might as well spend some time making my own NB/GPU mounts than risking the same mistake I've made in the past as you have. I've burned out new hard drives and motherboards and the same thing comes out of my mouth. I tend to look back at these things as learning experiences and stories I can tell people to help them not make the same mistake. I've used super glue to mount heatsinks which some types of super glue can come off with alcohol which is safe to use on your video card. My condolences do your dead video card. I just got done replacing my dead A7N8X motherboard along with its AMD Athlon XP 2100+. Very costly mistake. Your not alone when you say Oh $hit. You can try the suggestion on the window defogger kit. Let me know how it works. I might just try this on my pile on junk.

__________________
Team 32 Contributor.
matrixzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-25-03, 10:48 AM Thread Starter   #18
Capt Fiero
Member

 
Capt Fiero's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada (near Vancouver)

 
To be very honest, I am scared to try and put the card back into my board just in the slim chance that something is shorted out on the card and it fries my AGP Slot.

__________________
[COLOR="White"][SIZE=1]
My System
CPU E8400 @ 3.84ghz
Motherboard Biostar T45HP
Ram 4GB Corsair (4x 1GB)
Nvidia 8800GT OC2 Video Card.
Logitech Revolution Laser Mouse
3.5 Terabytes of Storage
Antec TruePower 750 Watt PSU
XIGMATEK HDT S1283 Cooler
Capt Fiero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-25-03, 05:23 PM   #19
matrixzen
Member

 
matrixzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA

 
Try the card out on a old computer with AGP that you don't really care too much about. That's what I'll usually do to test old parts. If I want to test an old PCI device or something I just pop it in my Pentium 233. Good luck!

__________________
Team 32 Contributor.
matrixzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-04, 06:05 AM   #20
blackjackel
Member

 
blackjackel's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles

 
if your still selling it ill take it off you for 15 bux....

i just Fked my motherboard in almost the same way and bought a trace repair pen, might as well try and repair your vidcard too...

just one question, how deep down is it?
blackjackel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?