Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

O/C CPU Not Working Properly

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-03, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
d412k5t412
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pennsylvania

 
Exclamation O/C CPU Not Working Properly


I am trying to O/C my CPU to 2.2ghz. I am using 2700 512 DRR RAM. I had my my o/c set at 12.5x and 166fsb (cant go any higher) and it got to 2.09ghz. So I made my Voltage to cpu to 1.7 and made my cpu 13.5x, but my cpu says its running 918mhz! WHAT THE HELL! Could someone tell me what to do to make it right? Thank you, if u need any more information on my pc its on my signiture below.
d412k5t412 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 12-17-03, 12:54 PM   #2
Radius
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden

 
hmm itīs becuase you clock it on Wrong way. and i see that your a newbie...i can think that u use an AMD Athlon Xp 2800+ if u wanna have 2.2ghz you may use 12.5 and use 200FSB but your memory doesnt support 200mhz so you may need to buy 3200memory (400mhz).
Radius is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-17-03, 02:37 PM   #3
ThePCGuy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Actually to get 2.2Ghz with a 200Mhz FSB your multiplier would be 11. A multiplier of 12.5 would put you at 2.5Ghz. Theres a chance that you memory simply cannot clock to 200Mhz. Also, not all Athlon XP 2500+ cpus have unlocked multipliers. My processor is locked at its default multiplier of 11. Your best bet is to research the memory you have and find out if you can indeed overclock it to PC3200 spces. If not, you'll be buying some new memory. At the moment I have my XP 2500+ running at 2.2Ghz with a 200Mhz FSB with a multiplier of 11. I'm running dual 512MB Corsair Value Select PC3200 at stock timings. The chips are about 85.00/each. Good luck.

- ThePCGuy
ThePCGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?