• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Generic Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Foxie3a

Normal Member
I had an idea for a program to make. As you guys probably know by now, I am NOT a coder. I know hardware. Processors mostly.

The idea is to create a program that will allow someone to easily create a text based game without ever using code.

I have many ideas for making this program a success, but have no idea how to make it.

So, which language would be the easiest for something like this?

Should I open my C++ books and learn that just for thehell of it, or would something like VB be better fitting for something like this?

Thanks again guys,

John

Hmm... You want to make a "Adventure Game Creator"? Those have been around for years. I have even seen one on a C64. And you also have the sierra game creator for PC.

If you have no programming exp. then you should go for a basic-clone like VB. However if you have some experience then learn C++...

VB it is.

I didn't know that they exsisted...

But mine will be very simple, yet have good features.

I want it to have a GUI. not text. It just makes a text based game.

I had another idea, actually my dad did, but he wants me to take the credit..lol...A program that you can have running during a text based game that allows you to very easily make maps. It would have some templates, and allow you to easily make rooms different sizes and shapes.

what do you guys think?