Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

any problems with cats. 3.10 or just me

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-03, 10:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
any problems with cats. 3.10 or just me


hello i jus loaded cats. 3.10 2 days ago. oddly it caused my stable system overclock to become unstable... but after some voltage increases it looked fine...just like before. but afterwords when i was playing call of duty today...it crashed 20 min into the game like every time! and i also didnt really see any improvement in my games... well before i was using the drivers which were made to fix call of duty which worked like a charm
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-03, 10:41 PM   #2
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
I get a "VPU Recover" error every now and then when playing NWN and have to restart because it then goes into software rendering. If i cant find a way to fix it i'll probably go back to 3.9's
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-22-03, 11:12 PM Thread Starter   #3
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
i see the drivers seem to also lower my score with 3dmark, when i switched back i got like a 100point increase in 3dmark 2k1 in 2k3 it was a 30 mark decrease. (jus compared them like 5 min ago)
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 02:07 AM   #4
Strida
Member

 
Strida's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa

 
I've no problems with the 3.10 drivers. In fact I am getting even better scores, and ~ 5 more fps in most of my games. It might just be wishful thinking but I'm pretty sure my games didn't run this quickly before.

__________________
Processor - Xeon 3060, 3.8ghz
Motherboard - Abit IP35-E, 423 x 9
Ram - 4GB GSkill, DDR2 1000
Video Card - nVidia 8800GT, stock
Power Supply - Sparkle/Fortron 550 Watt
Sound Card - X-Fi Fatal1ty / DTS Connect
Audio: Speakers - Harman Kardon HK-254 / L, R Athena AS-B2 / SL, SR Athena AS-B1 / C Athena AS-C1 / Sub Premier Acoustic PA-120 650W
Audio: Cans - Grado SR-225 / Sennheiser HD-580 / PIMETA Amp
Heatware
Strida is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 08:40 AM Thread Starter   #5
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
i see thats good to read well 3.10 did do something for me i did see a lil improvment in game play for battlefield but...it killed my hopes of playing call of duty for to long... and it forced me to overvolt to keep my overclock...
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 09:48 AM   #6
Risendemon
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albemarle, NC

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Evnas
I get a "VPU Recover" error every now and then when playing NWN and have to restart because it then goes into software rendering. If i cant find a way to fix it i'll probably go back to 3.9's
oooo NWN, this is about as off topic as it gets ,but is the new expansion any good?
Risendemon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 11:37 AM   #7
Th0r
Member

 
Th0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England. Liverpool, Aintree

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Risendemon


oooo NWN, this is about as off topic as it gets ,but is the new expansion any good?

Trying using the nice PM feature....Thats what it is there for...

I have had no problems with my Card using the Cats 3.10... Maybe its just your system or just different brands do better than another...

I give them a thumbs up
Th0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 12:54 PM   #8
Jibby
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003

 
It could be your old drivers interfering. I usually uninstall them, boot into safe mode and run a driver scrubber. then install the new ones.
Jibby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 03:30 PM   #9
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I believe it's recommended to turn off that VPU recover feature. I did and I haven't had any stability problems, OC's unaffected. 4x AA looks nicer too...Halo's smoother as well.

Try disabling the VPU Recover feature and both ATi services in services.msc.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 04:49 PM Thread Starter   #10
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
i will stick with my 3.9s for now, they seem to be doing much better, but...mehhh.. i might as well try the 3.10 again later
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 05:28 PM   #11
Th0r
Member

 
Th0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England. Liverpool, Aintree

 
Good luck... post back with anymore problems
Th0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-03, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #12
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
AHHHH i uninstalled patched 3.9 and used driver cleaner...then in goes 3.10 , now vpu recovery is off and now to see is call of duty is table...5 min after ...AHHHHHH it crashed !!!!!!! back goes 3.9 patched...maybe 3.11 or cats 4 will be nicer...
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 03:02 AM   #13
SpoonMaN
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Olympia Washington

 
yeah i had this same problem even with 3.9
so iv been stuck with 3.8 for a while now
hell even when my system isnt OCed it doesnt like 3.10
SpoonMaN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 03:44 PM   #14
walkitiki
Member

 
walkitiki's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blacksburg, VA

 
where's the best place to get one of these driver cleaning programs?
walkitiki is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 03:51 PM Thread Starter   #15
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
i think voodoo files, is a good place to get it
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 05:02 PM   #16
walkitiki
Member

 
walkitiki's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blacksburg, VA

 
thanks, mine are a bit mucked up.
walkitiki is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 05:45 PM   #17
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Risendemon


oooo NWN, this is about as off topic as it gets ,but is the new expansion any good?
Havent gotten that far yet, but I do have it

Havent had the time to pour into RPG's much lately
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 06:19 PM   #18
Th0r
Member

 
Th0r's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England. Liverpool, Aintree

 
Well the Omega Drivers are a good look

www.omegacorner.com

Try then and see what happens
Th0r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 07:40 PM   #19
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Excelsior
Well the Omega Drivers are a good look

www.omegacorner.com

Try then and see what happens
Yeah the 3.10 gave me some unstability problems as well,got the new Omegas and did some good for me 16208 in 3D MArk 2001 up from 15800

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-24-03, 07:42 PM Thread Starter   #20
fazz33
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: (CANADA) thornhill onatrio

 
the ati cats are finnaly working for me i dunno what made them change maybe because its christmas time
fazz33 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?