Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Low Tech Relay.. sorta

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-03, 10:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
Low Tech Relay.. sorta


I've found myself working on things and turning the comp on and fogetting to plug the pump back in... discussed many time here.

While at *Walmart (lol) today.. i found an item for 7.50 that you plug in and has a RF remote.. (works a good deal away) to turn the power of/on.. i bought another powerstrip for things i want to have power to all the time.. and used this item on my power strip for monitor , computer, pump, and PSU for my lights... so when i shut the comp off and want the pump off. just push a little button on the remote and everything goes down.. then before i can turn my comp back on.. i have to turn it all on again and my pump along with it.. at the press of a button.. pretty nice safty fallback for elcheapo..

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-03, 11:12 PM   #2
squeakygeek
Member

 
squeakygeek's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

 
I don't see what you mean exactly by a safety fallback...
squeakygeek is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-03, 11:16 PM Thread Starter   #3
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
as in a safty...... umm... percaution.. yeh that might be a better word.. so that i dont fry my CPU by not having my pump on

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-03, 11:27 PM   #4
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
nice plan repilce - it protects you from starting up without the pump on.

Personally I would be looking for something that shut the pump off w/ the computer so it wouldn't be on alone.
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-03, 11:32 PM   #5
felinusz
Senior Overclocking Magus

 
felinusz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Taiwan

 
I have a $5 power bar (from Canadian Tire ) that has a switch. Seeing as how both the pump, and computer are plugged into it, I need to turn the switch on to turn the computer on, which also turns on the pump. and I turn it off everytime I turn my computer off.

I would prefer a normal relay though - flipping the switch every time gets annoying!

That remote idea is awesome repilce - maybe I will go find this "Walmart" place you speak of

felinusz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-26-03, 11:35 PM   #6
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
What's wrong with it being on all by itself? I use a powerstrip for everything too, so that the computer can't be on without the pump on.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX460 768mb
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-03, 12:42 AM   #7
rogerdugans
Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...

 
rogerdugans's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Corner of No and Where

 
Nothing really wrong with the pump being on when th computer is off.....except that you are:
using electricity to do nothing but heat water (waste of money)
adding to the wear on your pump heating water

Really- there is no reason for the pump to be on if the computer is off.

__________________
Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.
rogerdugans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-03, 01:03 AM   #8
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
johan851 - man chill out and stop tring to crash this thread.
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-27-03, 09:48 AM Thread Starter   #9
repilce

 
repilce's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: E600000 - E60000FF

10 Year Badge
 
I used to just use my switch on my power strip as well, but still found myself uplugging the pump instead of switching everything off on the strip

so this works for me

__________________

X5670 @ 3.6ghz / P6T Deluxe / 3 x 4GB Ripjaw 1333 c7 / HD6950

Black belt Ubercloxx0r My Heat
repilce is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?