• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

via aqua silencer mod... FAILED?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mumrah

well, i've never used a pump before so i dont know what is considered "loud". my brand new Via Aqua 1300 didnt make much noise in operation, it just vibrated a whole bunch. i figure that is what is meant by loud. Anyways, i did the mod where you glue the impeller to the magnet, first using some old rubber cement - no good. tried some gorrilla glue, and it worked fine. However, my pump is now loud and vibrates more intenely. How in the hell could i have done this mod wrong? it's so simple. just glue. :mad:

-David

you might have reinstalled it wrong.. when i assembled mine together after the mod, it did the same thing, after sometime, the rubber end caps were worn down and the pump became unusable..
i did get the mod to work on another via aqua, the via aqua does make noise but after a while of use (atleast with mine.) as for the vibrations, u can't fix that. if u're able to fix it, i would suggest using foam or anti vibration/acustic matting (www.akasa.com.tw) to absorb the vibrations.

squeakygeek said:
I don't know where you read about the mod, but I believe it calls for superglue....

... rubber cement?!?!?!?:eek:

I thought people were having problems with the superglue slowly dissolving into the water? After several months, the noise would be back. Dunno if rubber cement is a good replacement or not.

well the rubber cement didnt work.. as said above. but this gorrilla glue is water proof and holds very well. however, still noisy :\

Darn dude. Sorry to hear that didnt work out for ya. Have done it myself and it workt quite well. Still there are, as we all know, vibrations to consider. i tried to solve this in a bit unorthdox way. Came across this a few months ago :