Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Problems with overclocking

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-04, 07:37 PM Thread Starter   #1
zkte
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home Sweet Home ALABAMA

 
Problems with overclocking


Hello all,I have a 2400+t-bred and 1gig of corsair xms ram
What are some general settings for the an35n ultra?
I have tried different things but always screws up on reboot.
zkte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-03-04, 07:52 PM   #2
Graphic67
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Welcome to the Forum!

You have not given us much information. What sort of problem are you having?

If you have a recent (after 0338 year-week coded) Athlon, then it is likely to be multiplier locked at 15X. You will have to do all of your overclocking in the front side bus setting. Do this in small steps and make small increases to core voltage only when stability suffers.

Every chip, board and ram combination will behave differently, so there are no "general settings" to use.
Graphic67 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-03-04, 10:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
zkte
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home Sweet Home ALABAMA

 
The main problem I am having is that bios seems to be real flakky
I have already flashed to the latest version but it does not seem to help much.
Pretty much any settings other than OPTIMAL (memory timings) leads to crash and having to reset cmos.
Does anybody think this might go away after burn-in?
zkte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-04, 01:49 AM   #4
2coop
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: phxusa

 
I used corsair xms on mine, is your cpu really locked at 15? If so you will be very limited to what you can change as far as fsb. What speed is your ram?
2coop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-04, 11:46 AM Thread Starter   #5
zkte
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home Sweet Home ALABAMA

 
Its 3200 ram dual channel
and it seems to be doing a little better now that it has burned in a little bit. The multiplier is not locked though and I found the secret too with this an35n ultra motherboard.It seems you can only make one change at a time in bios then save and exit make another change then save and exit.If you change multiplier and FSB at the same time it freaks out.
zkte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 11:13 PM   #6
sQUiRLy
Member

 
sQUiRLy's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, KY

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by zkte
It seems you can only make one change at a time in bios then save and exit make another change then save and exit.If you change multiplier and FSB at the same time it freaks out.
The only time my mobo reverts to default settings is when my OC is too aggressive. Other than that you should be able to change as many settings as you want, save+exit, and all is good.

__________________
Phenom II X4 925 C3 [] Adata XPG v2 1600 2x4GB [] Asus M5A97 [] Zalman Performa
Antec Neo HE 550 [] Toshiba Q series Pro 128GB [] WD Black 1TB [] Galaxy GTX 460 1GB [] 7 Home Premium 64bit [] Eizo S2233WH 1680x1050
sQUiRLy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 07:00 AM   #7
Balrog
Member

 
Balrog's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts, U.S.A.

 
Actually I found the same thing zkte at high FSBs that it didn't like FSB and multi in same tweak, at slower FSBs I can change everything. I can still mess with anything else , just not those 2 at same time. Personally I'm glad cause the MoBo is covering your ass, unlike earlier boards\brands that would crash hard with a couple of tweaks, heck some of them still do. I think you'll find the same thing sQUiRLy when you push over 210FSB, it starts getting sensitive.

Regards, Szandor
Balrog is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?