Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Whats better than a 8500?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-04, 02:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
Whats better than a 8500?


What can I get for around $70 that is better than a 8500? I want only ATI.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 09:32 AM   #2
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Nothing...for that price, you already have the best peice of harware out there......
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 09:39 AM   #3
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
$70 is the price of a new radeon 8500. Not much out there for that price. Some may say get the ti4200, but thats under a 5% speed increase, and worse IQ to boot.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 10:40 AM Thread Starter   #4
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
what is the IQ of the card? I don't understand that term, its never been explained to me, or have I read it anywhere. A VERY simple explanations please.

Maybe I'll get some of those good Ramsinks that I hear about..and a nice heatsink..maybe cut the fins halfway down or something..and a nice fan on it..overclock that core and memory.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 11:29 AM   #5
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
IQ = Image quality
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 11:56 AM Thread Starter   #6
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
thanks.

And yes, I have had the opportunity to play with a GF4MX440. And the image quality was pretty bad, although it was on an LCD, and those arn't even comparable in my book.

My 8500, along with my Flat CRT, it looks very nice, and robust.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 07:46 PM   #7
Cyrix_2k
Member

 
Cyrix_2k's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)

 
WHAT?! Quality LCD's usually have BETTER IQ then CRT's unless you have a really nice one or run the LCD's res at a non-native res or the LCD is hooked up using an analog cable. The reason is that the pixels on an LCD can't move, so the picture is always "Square" and when using DVI, the picture on the screen is mapped out pixel by pixel. On a CRT, the vid card kinda says "put that part of the image somewhere over there"and so on. How can the image quality be better on a CRT when there are really only 6 wires controlling the picture? (R,G,B, and their respective grounds. I'm not counting the H-sync and V-sync) Only top-quality CRT's can match the IQ of a quality LCD. If the LCD's cheap, then I can see your point. Cheap LCD's may suffer from ghosting and bland color due to relaxed specs.

__________________

ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

2500k @ 4.9ghz
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

vCore
1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
16gb Corsair XMS 3
| Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
F O L D For Team 32!!

Black belt Ubercloxx0r

Audio Technica ATH-A900's
"yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
SANS GSEC Certified
Cyrix_2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 11:58 PM Thread Starter   #8
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
both were $300.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?