Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Howto break super glue?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-04, 06:04 AM Thread Starter   #1
Valk
Member

 
Valk's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chocobo Alley, Aht Urgan Whitegate

10 Year Badge
 
Howto break super glue?


I want to gel my cathodes to produce more accurate hue's in my lighting scheme. i wanted orange originally, but ended up with a pinky **** yellow hue which sucks... its bright. but ..

this just means that if i tint my cathode shells, it will be nice and bright. there are a few ways i can do it, to simply paint the cathode tube which is acrylic or to gel the lights themselves.

either way, i want the freedom, and these sunbeam cathodes being so cheap, I had to glue them into their housings with super glue so it didnt fall out and risk sending 600 volts running through my tower. the return wire is unsheilded... oh how safe.

so, is there any way to break the bond of super glue? like if i freeze it will it be easily breakable with a little bit of a zank or a twist?
I would like to paint some straws with model paint to adjust their hue and slip those over the tubes directly.

__________________
Yurisa - Desktop, first upgrade in 6 years lol
Intel Core i5 4670k@4.5ghz 1.25v - Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600 Grey - AMD Radeon 5850 1gb - Crucial C300 64gb SSD - HP LP2475W sips/HP f2105 sips - Custom liquid cooling; Raystorm/d5/apogee1u on gpu - Windows 7 Home Premium : still to come; finish rebuilding case, black ice SR1-360, Samsung 740 evo, new storage drive


My Other Stuff
Heat - Watercooled Lian Li PC-V600 - HIME, Watercooled SFF - RCtech.net; Sanwa/VBCRacing/HobbywingUSA/TeamOrcaUSA
Valk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 06:31 AM   #2
ZGOZZ
Member

 
ZGOZZ's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ USA

 
What Kind of super glue?
CA, Epoxy. So on.
ZGOZZ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 08:12 AM   #3
Huckleberry
Member

 
Huckleberry's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Just East of the mall

 
Assuming you're using the cyanoacrylate-based glue, you can use "debonder." Hobby stores will have some of the stuff, and hardware stores might (I haven't looked to see if my local Lowe's has it or not).

Or, of course, you can purchase it online.
Huckleberry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #4
Valk
Member

 
Valk's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chocobo Alley, Aht Urgan Whitegate

10 Year Badge
 
Im not going to buy a little jar of anything online <_< thats the pinicle of laziness.
hmmm. i might just paint the acrylic housing instead. will cost $5 for the paints to do both cathodes. and if they come out looking like ass, big woop. they are sunbeam and suck anyway.

__________________
Yurisa - Desktop, first upgrade in 6 years lol
Intel Core i5 4670k@4.5ghz 1.25v - Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H - 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600 Grey - AMD Radeon 5850 1gb - Crucial C300 64gb SSD - HP LP2475W sips/HP f2105 sips - Custom liquid cooling; Raystorm/d5/apogee1u on gpu - Windows 7 Home Premium : still to come; finish rebuilding case, black ice SR1-360, Samsung 740 evo, new storage drive


My Other Stuff
Heat - Watercooled Lian Li PC-V600 - HIME, Watercooled SFF - RCtech.net; Sanwa/VBCRacing/HobbywingUSA/TeamOrcaUSA
Valk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 03:20 PM   #5
k3nshin
Member

 
k3nshin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Georgia, USA

 
what about some acetone?
k3nshin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 03:51 PM   #6
snyper1982
Member

 
snyper1982's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
i imagine the acetone would eat through the acrylic, but im not sure.

__________________
Main Rig
Motherbard-DFI NF4 Ultra
Processor-A64 3000+
Vid Card-X800XL
Memory-1GIG G.Skill 2-3-3-6 PC3200

RIG 2| Asus p4p800 deluxe | 2.4c@stock | radeon 9800np @ stock | 2 80gig WD se's | 512mb Corsair xms
Rig 3| Abit NF7-S | 1800+ tbred-b | (RIP)9700 np
snyper1982 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-04, 04:58 PM   #7
bubba gump
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CA, USA

 
If i remember right, the reason that cold cathodes (ie, neons) get their color is becuase of gasses. And if you were to open up the little shell..you would thus release the gasses and most likely you would not have any color (or any light for that matter). The latter I am not quite sure about.

In fact...you could just do as you have said before Put some gel sheets around it...or am I way off as to what you are trying to do?

Fold and Frag on
Brian
bubba gump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 02:12 AM   #8
snyper1982
Member

 
snyper1982's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
i think he means the acrylic tube that the cathode tub goes inside of.

__________________
Main Rig
Motherbard-DFI NF4 Ultra
Processor-A64 3000+
Vid Card-X800XL
Memory-1GIG G.Skill 2-3-3-6 PC3200

RIG 2| Asus p4p800 deluxe | 2.4c@stock | radeon 9800np @ stock | 2 80gig WD se's | 512mb Corsair xms
Rig 3| Abit NF7-S | 1800+ tbred-b | (RIP)9700 np
snyper1982 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 08:34 AM   #9
RangerJoe
All that is Man!

 
RangerJoe's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Stillwater, Oklahoma

 
goo-gone will get it off

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.92ghz --- Asus Striker Extreme
Lian Li V2000B---Corsair 620w PSU
8gb DDR2 Patriot (4x2gb)---Samsung Spinpoint T 500gb
Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme

My name is actually Phillip.
RangerJoe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 10:09 AM   #10
vonkaar
Member

 
vonkaar's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flower Mound, TX

 
I've opened up several CCFLs... you simply twist. The glue isn't very strong.

__________________
-->>Ranked #1 of all folders in the world!!<<-- named Vonkaar...
I7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz // MSI X58 Pro-E // Sapphire 5870 // 6x Seagates in RAID0 // Microsoft Keyboard Overclocked to 18 WPM (STOCK COOLING!)

Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittamj
vonkaar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 12:10 PM   #11
snyper1982
Member

 
snyper1982's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
maybe their glue isnt, but i highly doubt you are going to break super glue by twisting.

__________________
Main Rig
Motherbard-DFI NF4 Ultra
Processor-A64 3000+
Vid Card-X800XL
Memory-1GIG G.Skill 2-3-3-6 PC3200

RIG 2| Asus p4p800 deluxe | 2.4c@stock | radeon 9800np @ stock | 2 80gig WD se's | 512mb Corsair xms
Rig 3| Abit NF7-S | 1800+ tbred-b | (RIP)9700 np
snyper1982 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 01:24 PM   #12
AlucardCasull
Member

 
AlucardCasull's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
just tear em off, or get a small chisel and hammer, and knock em off.
AlucardCasull is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 04:44 PM   #13
Robrules18
Member

 
Robrules18's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Peoria, IL

 
i find goo gone and elbow grease does the job.
Robrules18 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?